Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My husband requested cupcakes and I had all of the ingredients for this recipe so I gave it a whirl. He loved them, so I'll be making them again. I substituted 1/2 of the water for a blend of milk and coffee in the batter. Coffee always compliments chocolate flavor. I was forced to used regular sized chocolate chips, didn't have the mini ones, but they turned out great. In fact, I liked the larger burst of chocolate in the filling. Reduced the recipe serving size to "18" and got a perfect 12 cupcakes...I like to fill my muffin pans enough to get a healthy sized cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcorson1101
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
super easy to make and I think it genuinely taste fantastic just the way the recipe is written! Highly recommend this even to people who can't bake that is how easy and yummy this recipe is! Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcorson1101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I really love these. So moist, rich, and super easy. Here's a great tip; I used a large cookie scoop to transfer the batter to the cupcake liners and it came out to exactly 24, evenly filled cupcakes. Then I used a small cookie scoop to top the batter with the cream cheese mixture right in the center. They came out perfectly and the cream cheese mixture sunk into the batter as intended. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My kids find these so fascinating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Epworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These are really good. The most important thing I have learned is that you should COOK THEM THE DAY BEFORE you eat them. For some strange reason, they taste 10X better the next day. I make them in cupcake and regular layer circle cake. I also only bake them for 25 min....seems to be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.j. Glass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Fine, but not as chocolatey as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I wouldn't eat these again warm. The melted chocolate was overpowering and I wasn't fond of the hot cream cheese either. After a night in the fridge they were pretty good, though. The reformed chocolate was much better tasting. I had used coffee instead of water as suggested and the flavor of dark chocolate really builds up the more you eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yum! Used the dark chocolate coco powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My recipe made 24. I had cream cheese mixture left over. I did go back and add more to each cupcake, but still had a lot left over. I wouldn't recommend overdoing it on the cream cheese. Next time, I would make more cake mixture, maybe 1/2 batch. I'm not understanding the "blah" reviews about the cake, mine was moist, chocolatey and very tasty. I will try the coffee substitute next time as I normally do this but I was pretty surprised how good this recipe is as written. I baked mine for 25 minutes. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
i've tried this and substitute coffee instead of water and it turned out soo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamnonay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States