Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was really yummy. Combined with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Without the vinegar and oil, these were fantastic. I also had issues with adding salt during the cooking process, so I would recommend saving that for the end. Great with other beans, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
this goes wonderfully with all beans. I did not add the vinegre and wine at the end. Also do NOT salt the cooking water, the beans will never cook if you do. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I have made this recipe many times. As an old Cuban friend told me many years ago, just clean the beans really well by rinsing them several times then put in a pot and bring to a boil, cover and simmer for about 3 hours. When soft then add all of your spices. I chop up lots of fresh onion and with that add cooked rice. What a great side dish. Note DO NOT ADD ANY SPICES AND THAT INCLUDES SALT BEFORE COOKING. ADD AT THE END.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I have had black beans in the past but did not like them. I was given this recipe to try. I followed all the instructions but added about 4-5 jalapeño peppers. It was awesome! I have even shared some I cooked with family and neighbors who also thought it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Made these bin the crock pot. They came out great! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I don't understand the poorer reviews - Halved recipe and used quick boil method (omitted the wine, vinegar & oil step at the end). I did wait 45 minutes before adding salt and mine were perfectly cooked in 2 hrs. I'm wondering if some of the people who complained about hard beans used older ones. In any event, I was looking for a simple straight forward method for cooking dried black beans and this was it. The seasonings are perfect if you're looking for simple side dish (which is what I wanted). Served with Mexican rice, tortillas, and Rick Bayless' grilled Mexican chicken. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Best black beans I have ever tasted. I omitted the green pepper (just a personal preference as green pepper just doesn't seem to agree with my stomach). Didn't soak ahead of time, just put them right in the crock pot as one reviewer suggested. Added salt from the start as suggested by the same reviewer. After 6-8 hours on low, beans were still "crunchy". Added 1 cup additional water and cooked for another 8 hours over night. Beans were perfectly cooked and tender. Stirred in white wine, vinegar and olive and cooked down a bit and the end result is really fantastic. Keep in mind that you are adding a full cup of liquid at the end. Therefore, you probably want the beans to have cooked down considerably before the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
the beans were very hard even with trying to use MrsOz's trick and not adding salt and vinegar during the process.. i ended up dumping them into the crockpot and left them on all night.. they're "ok" now.. but i wouldn't try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This recipe tasted amazing! It was exactly what I was looking for, I did omit the cooking wine, green peppers and used red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar only because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Woodcrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States