Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I actually use this recipe to cook most of my dry beans (black, red/kidney, pinto). I then use the beans in things like burritos, enchiladas or smother rice with them. No soaking! Just put them in the crock pot for 4-8 hours and let them cook. They always come out just right! Sometimes I omit the wine, vinegar and bellpeppers (just a personal preference, but it's okay w/them). The beans have a "mexi-type" flavor. I didn't have a problem with "tough" beans...but if you are skeptical, leave the salt out! **UPDATE**: I've made this recipe MANY times now and I truly appreciate this recipe! I've used it to cook beans for several other recipes on this site that require "canned beans" as well as fresh. The beans freeze nicely for later use. This is a great BASIC recipe that allows you to add as many or as few extras to it and it's still good. You can even use balsamic vinegar instead of distilled vinegar. The best part is that this is SO healthy! It has no additives or preservatives (you can barely find that these days)and it cost pennies to make!! One crockpot of these beans can make a few different meals! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
Beans that are salted during the cooking process become tough. . .that's what happened here. They never did soften even after hours of cooking. . .and cooking. . .and cooking. Taste was marginal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
tasted almost like my aunt china's cuban black beans ( morros ). almost. would have benefitted from some tomato sauce and recao ( cilantro ) to really warm the cuban soul. still, it wasn't that bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe calls for dried beans soaked for all night... I always use dried beans but use a quick soak method. This would eliminate the salt making the beans "tough". The quick soak is simply: rinse dried beans in colander. Put dried beans into a stock pot covered with water, bring to boil (with lid off), boil for three minutes. After they've boiled the three minutes let soak for only one hour, with the lid on. A lot can be done in an hour! When the hour is over rinse again & proceed with your recipe. I've never had a problem with this method. And it actually helps to eliminate the problem (gas) most people associate with beans. I doubled this recipe today & we are already enjoying it! Very good flavor. I did add some more spices though, not too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These beans were delicious until I added the vinegar and wine. Leave those two out and these beans get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe. I made a few alterations. I used 1 can of Black Beans, drained, and no salt. I sautéed the onions and green peppers in Olive oil. Then I added everything else. I used 2 Tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, and 2 Tablespoons of Molasses. Served this to some friends, and there wasn't any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
First of all, I took the easy way out and used canned beans. I sautéed the onions, peppers and garlic in the olive oil, then added the bay leaf and seasonings. I also gave it a good glug of chicken broth to help keep the beans moist while they simmered (the truth be told a little bacon grease too!), and also added the wine at this point. The idea of adding the wine at the end without cooking off the alcohol didn’t appeal to me. Besides, simmering the beans WITH the wine helps give them good flavor! I did add the vinegar at the end, which really served to brighten the flavor as well. I simmered them about 20 minutes, basically the time it took to heat the chicken enchiladas I served them with. I liked these dressed up black beans and they worked well with the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. It was very good but I didn't add the last 3 ingredients: wine, vinegar, and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I loved the flavor of these beans, but they came out so tough. I used dried beans, and knew enough to leave the salt until the end, but forgot about the vinegar. Acidity makes uncooked beans tough! From what I can tell, a lot of people who have rated this recipe highly have used canned beans or left out the vinegar, and followed another user's suggestion to salt at the end. Next time, I'm going to try leaving -both- the salt and the vinegar out until the beans are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The taste of this is decent, but Sheepcrk is right--you can't salt it if you use dry beans. This would be fine with canned beans, or adding the spices later, but it takes over five hours of boiling as-is. It's worth making if you do use canned, though, and since the flavor isn't particularly strong, it makes a nice, mellow side dish for pretty much any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States