Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
The beans were not cooked long enough which was was my fault, but the flavor was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very easy...as GAPEACH12 wrote, I will also use this recipe for all of my bean dishes and I did not need to soak them. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I actually use this recipe to cook most of my dry beans (black, red/kidney, pinto). I then use the beans in things like burritos, enchiladas or smother rice with them. No soaking! Just put them in the crock pot for 4-8 hours and let them cook. They always come out just right! Sometimes I omit the wine, vinegar and bellpeppers (just a personal preference, but it's okay w/them). The beans have a "mexi-type" flavor. I didn't have a problem with "tough" beans...but if you are skeptical, leave the salt out! **UPDATE**: I've made this recipe MANY times now and I truly appreciate this recipe! I've used it to cook beans for several other recipes on this site that require "canned beans" as well as fresh. The beans freeze nicely for later use. This is a great BASIC recipe that allows you to add as many or as few extras to it and it's still good. You can even use balsamic vinegar instead of distilled vinegar. The best part is that this is SO healthy! It has no additives or preservatives (you can barely find that these days)and it cost pennies to make!! One crockpot of these beans can make a few different meals! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Made this to go with Pollo Rancho Luna: quite nice but nothing special. However, I turned the leftovers into soup, jazzed up with some chopped salami - fantastic!! So I will try again, adding more pepper, some celery and some sausage or salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mold, Flintshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. It was very good but I didn't add the last 3 ingredients: wine, vinegar, and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe. I made a few alterations. I used 1 can of Black Beans, drained, and no salt. I sautéed the onions and green peppers in Olive oil. Then I added everything else. I used 2 Tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, and 2 Tablespoons of Molasses. Served this to some friends, and there wasn't any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This didn't work out for me. Beans were tough, even after cooking a lot longer than specified in recipe. Not a bad flavor and we did eat all of it with a week's worth of lunches. Others seem to have had good luck with this recipe, so I may consider trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I love this dish, my family loved this dish. Great with any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Tart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was O.K. but nothing great. I cheated and used cans of black beans. I also had to add some sugar to offset the vinegar. Way too much vinegar, definitely reduce. That said, I think it rated closer to a 3.5* because it went well (flavorwise) with a Mexican chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States