Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe. I made a few alterations. I used 1 can of Black Beans, drained, and no salt. I sautéed the onions and green peppers in Olive oil. Then I added everything else. I used 2 Tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, and 2 Tablespoons of Molasses. Served this to some friends, and there wasn't any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This didn't work out for me. Beans were tough, even after cooking a lot longer than specified in recipe. Not a bad flavor and we did eat all of it with a week's worth of lunches. Others seem to have had good luck with this recipe, so I may consider trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I love this dish, my family loved this dish. Great with any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Tart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was O.K. but nothing great. I cheated and used cans of black beans. I also had to add some sugar to offset the vinegar. Way too much vinegar, definitely reduce. That said, I think it rated closer to a 3.5* because it went well (flavorwise) with a Mexican chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I put this in the slow cooker, and added the wine while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
tasted almost like my aunt china's cuban black beans ( morros ). almost. would have benefitted from some tomato sauce and recao ( cilantro ) to really warm the cuban soul. still, it wasn't that bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
Beans that are salted during the cooking process become tough. . .that's what happened here. They never did soften even after hours of cooking. . .and cooking. . .and cooking. Taste was marginal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States