Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I must agree ,leave the vinegar and wine out! I've fixed these beans over and over and they are DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Add 1/2 spices during cooking with no salt .. and added rest of the spices at end with salt just in case the beans were old ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Too easy to just use canned organic black beans, I don't have he time to do all the boiling etc. you can get this ready in 20min. Just sauté some yellow pepper a half of chopped onion and some garlic and oil and some oil. And a teaspoon of cumin , tsp of oregano , add your drained beans add a little oil and some organic apple cider vinegar and it's pretty yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgehampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Great taste. Left out the vinegar at the end. Our family eats it for burritos, tacos, and as a side dish all week. Better than canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
this recipe is fantastic I did wait till the end to add the salt and I thought adding the vinegar oil and wine is crucial to the flavor. I did cook the beans longer than it said maybe 3 hours. my hubby insist these are the best beans ever and I am no longer allowed to buy canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very good a great change from the pork laden beans I am used to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantae Mwika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was really yummy. Combined with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Without the vinegar and oil, these were fantastic. I also had issues with adding salt during the cooking process, so I would recommend saving that for the end. Great with other beans, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
this goes wonderfully with all beans. I did not add the vinegre and wine at the end. Also do NOT salt the cooking water, the beans will never cook if you do. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I have made this recipe many times. As an old Cuban friend told me many years ago, just clean the beans really well by rinsing them several times then put in a pot and bring to a boil, cover and simmer for about 3 hours. When soft then add all of your spices. I chop up lots of fresh onion and with that add cooked rice. What a great side dish. Note DO NOT ADD ANY SPICES AND THAT INCLUDES SALT BEFORE COOKING. ADD AT THE END.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States