Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Great taste. Left out the vinegar at the end. Our family eats it for burritos, tacos, and as a side dish all week. Better than canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
this recipe is fantastic I did wait till the end to add the salt and I thought adding the vinegar oil and wine is crucial to the flavor. I did cook the beans longer than it said maybe 3 hours. my hubby insist these are the best beans ever and I am no longer allowed to buy canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very good a great change from the pork laden beans I am used to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantae Mwika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was really yummy. Combined with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Without the vinegar and oil, these were fantastic. I also had issues with adding salt during the cooking process, so I would recommend saving that for the end. Great with other beans, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
this goes wonderfully with all beans. I did not add the vinegre and wine at the end. Also do NOT salt the cooking water, the beans will never cook if you do. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I have made this recipe many times. As an old Cuban friend told me many years ago, just clean the beans really well by rinsing them several times then put in a pot and bring to a boil, cover and simmer for about 3 hours. When soft then add all of your spices. I chop up lots of fresh onion and with that add cooked rice. What a great side dish. Note DO NOT ADD ANY SPICES AND THAT INCLUDES SALT BEFORE COOKING. ADD AT THE END.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I have had black beans in the past but did not like them. I was given this recipe to try. I followed all the instructions but added about 4-5 jalapeño peppers. It was awesome! I have even shared some I cooked with family and neighbors who also thought it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Made these bin the crock pot. They came out great! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I don't understand the poorer reviews - Halved recipe and used quick boil method (omitted the wine, vinegar & oil step at the end). I did wait 45 minutes before adding salt and mine were perfectly cooked in 2 hrs. I'm wondering if some of the people who complained about hard beans used older ones. In any event, I was looking for a simple straight forward method for cooking dried black beans and this was it. The seasonings are perfect if you're looking for simple side dish (which is what I wanted). Served with Mexican rice, tortillas, and Rick Bayless' grilled Mexican chicken. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States