Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really great! Fixed 3/28/12: Used 4 cans of Bush's black beans....onion flakes....minced garlic. Cut salt to 1tsp....cumin and oregano to 1/2t....used cider vinegar, about 4t. Omitted pepper, wine and oil but might try them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
delicious ! and always find different ways to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These beans were delicious until I added the vinegar and wine. Leave those two out and these beans get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The taste of this is decent, but Sheepcrk is right--you can't salt it if you use dry beans. This would be fine with canned beans, or adding the spices later, but it takes over five hours of boiling as-is. It's worth making if you do use canned, though, and since the flavor isn't particularly strong, it makes a nice, mellow side dish for pretty much any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a simple recipe to follow but didn't give me the flavor I was hoping for. My husband and I are from the south and love our seasonings! The spicier the better. But the flavor in this was just okay. Not enough though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcevans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
The beans were not cooked long enough which was was my fault, but the flavor was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very easy...as GAPEACH12 wrote, I will also use this recipe for all of my bean dishes and I did not need to soak them. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I actually use this recipe to cook most of my dry beans (black, red/kidney, pinto). I then use the beans in things like burritos, enchiladas or smother rice with them. No soaking! Just put them in the crock pot for 4-8 hours and let them cook. They always come out just right! Sometimes I omit the wine, vinegar and bellpeppers (just a personal preference, but it's okay w/them). The beans have a "mexi-type" flavor. I didn't have a problem with "tough" beans...but if you are skeptical, leave the salt out! **UPDATE**: I've made this recipe MANY times now and I truly appreciate this recipe! I've used it to cook beans for several other recipes on this site that require "canned beans" as well as fresh. The beans freeze nicely for later use. This is a great BASIC recipe that allows you to add as many or as few extras to it and it's still good. You can even use balsamic vinegar instead of distilled vinegar. The best part is that this is SO healthy! It has no additives or preservatives (you can barely find that these days)and it cost pennies to make!! One crockpot of these beans can make a few different meals! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Made this to go with Pollo Rancho Luna: quite nice but nothing special. However, I turned the leftovers into soup, jazzed up with some chopped salami - fantastic!! So I will try again, adding more pepper, some celery and some sausage or salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mold, Flintshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. It was very good but I didn't add the last 3 ingredients: wine, vinegar, and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States