Black Beans with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Doubled the recipe and substituted a jar of medium salsa for the two tomatoes required (Safeway Select Roasted Tomato Salsa: EASILY the best salsa available in any supermarket!). I also added a tablespoon of ketchup to nullify the spiciness a bit to make it more kid friendly. The only problem I ran into is that the additional moisture of the salsa made it impossible to brown the bacon inside the vegetable mixture. So, Instead of cooking the bacon until it was brown and crispy, I just made sure it looked more or less "done" and reduced the moisture a bit before adding to the beans. I also dumped out some of the standing water in the bean pot to reduce moisture there. In the future, I will probably prepare the bacon in advance, though, honestly, it wasn't AT ALL bad with the bacon just "done". My kids (ages 11, 9, and 4) really enjoyed it, and the ketchup added just enough sweetness to the dish to make it taste like baked beans. Lastly, we served this dish as a main dish with rice and tortillas. I and my wife found that wrapping a mixture of beans and rice in the tortilla made for a very nice burrito. Anyway, thumbs up all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I surprised my brasilian boyfriend with this dish and he told me that it was almost like his mother used to prepare it. He was really impressed!!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
OK, I'm lazy and took a lot of shortcuts. Instead of dry beans, I used two cans of drained black beans. I also substituted a can of diced tomato and dried parsley for the fresh ingredients. I fried the bacon first and drained all but a little of the fat before adding the onions, garlic and carrot. Once they were tender, I added the beans and other ingredients and cooked until warm. This recipe was delicious as a side or on a tortilla with other fixings. My kids loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Excellent. I kept coming back to snitch bits. Very good flavors, great compliment to chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Anything with bacon grabs my attention! This is a great bean recipe. I didn't have a pressure cooker but it all turned out tasty. I soaked the beans overnight and just boiled them for an hour before I added the bacon and veggies. I like beans not so mushy. We ate it as a main course with a wrap and salsa. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was so delicious! I did the quick version of it using canned black beans and a can of milder Rotel. Even my pickiest eaters ate it, except my kids. But they're weird:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
very good!!! Made it for a 'cowboy birthday party' cook out & everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was way good. I simplified the recipe by using canned beans and I precooked my bacon in the microwave, reserving the drippings to add to the mix. I served it over rice and served along side the Jamaican Jerk Chicken from this site and couldn't get enough. It is very good the next day too, but the bacon goes soggy. Next time I will not stir the bacon in, but sprinkle on individual servings. Thank you! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Like some other reviewers, I also used canned black beans, and I also microwaved the bacon. Husband thought it was ok but said I've made him better black bean dishes. I also thought it was pretty boring, and really disliked the smell as well. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States