Black Beans with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very good! Didn't use tomatoes though. A little bland for my taste, but still good. Next time I might spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I also used canned beans, more bacon, and I omitted the carrots. I used a lot of seasonings including a lot of cummin. I am very impressed! It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I've never had black beans before, but this was good. The carrots were a bit crunchy, I might try matchstick (julienned) carrots next time. The flavor was great and I think even better the next day. I cooked some rice, mixed it in and wrapped it all in a tortilla for lunch the next day. That was awesome except for the 'soggy' bacon. My DS, 13 & very picky, wouldn't even taste it because he doesn't think beans should be black (we usually eat pinto, navy, kidney & green beans) but our rule is "You have to take at least one 'real' bite before you can judge the food--good or bad". I later caught him sneaking a bite, not once, but 3 times!! lol I'll try this recipe again if for no other reason than the fact that I liked it & my DD 4 liked it and it made an awesome lunch the next day! I'm guessing DS13 might even put some on his plate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Used canned black beans and frozen diced onions as a timesaver. Pretty tasty. Also added more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Like some other reviewers, I also used canned black beans, and I also microwaved the bacon. Husband thought it was ok but said I've made him better black bean dishes. I also thought it was pretty boring, and really disliked the smell as well. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was way good. I simplified the recipe by using canned beans and I precooked my bacon in the microwave, reserving the drippings to add to the mix. I served it over rice and served along side the Jamaican Jerk Chicken from this site and couldn't get enough. It is very good the next day too, but the bacon goes soggy. Next time I will not stir the bacon in, but sprinkle on individual servings. Thank you! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
very good!!! Made it for a 'cowboy birthday party' cook out & everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was so delicious! I did the quick version of it using canned black beans and a can of milder Rotel. Even my pickiest eaters ate it, except my kids. But they're weird:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Anything with bacon grabs my attention! This is a great bean recipe. I didn't have a pressure cooker but it all turned out tasty. I soaked the beans overnight and just boiled them for an hour before I added the bacon and veggies. I like beans not so mushy. We ate it as a main course with a wrap and salsa. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Excellent. I kept coming back to snitch bits. Very good flavors, great compliment to chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States