Black Beans with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These were very good. I usually don't like bacon on my food but decided to give this recipe a try. All I can say is that it was delicious. I decided as previously suggested to use a can of black beans. Will definelty continue making this recipe. The only thing I did differently is fry the bacon first to make it crispy then I added the veggies. Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Ok - but not great. Needed more flavor for my tastebuds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Bacon really does make everything better...wow! I opted to use a can of beans to make my life easier and I skipped the parsley (my only recipe this week that called for it). Other than that, I pretty much followed the recipe and, again, WOW! I used naples tip of adding cumin and I think it definitely adds a little more depth to the dish...just a light sprinkle, to taste. I cannot wait for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a very tasty dish. I do, however, feel it is a little heavy on the onions. Either doubling the beans or halving the onions would make it better in my opinion. I also added the cumin, as one reviewer recommended, and liked that flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Really simple and easy to make, and GREAT Tasting! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h_eir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Using this recipe as more of a guide, I just winged it and eyeballed the measurements of ingredients to suit my taste, using canned black beans, drained and rinsed. When looking over the recipe I noticed there were no spices, so I added ground cumin and was glad I did. Once the bacon, carrot, onion and garlic were cooked and tender, I did not drain the fat from the bacon before I added the beans, and I liked the extra flavor it provided. I simmered this for about 10 minutes, adding chicken stock as necessary so it wouldn't dry out. This was tasty, but I think the bacon fat and cumin were significant flavor contributions. Loved the addition of the tomatoes, carrots and parsley for color. This was a perfect side dish for the "Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos," also from this site, that I served it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I'd add more black beans, when I cooked it, they competed with the onions as the main ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe is so much better than it reads!! It deserves 10 stars. Our family loves this recipe. So fast and easy. Since I don't own a pressure cooker, I use either the crockpot or a Dutch oven. I empty 2 to 4 cans of undrained black beans in the crockpot, add two cans of water, cover with lid, and cook on low to medium. While that is heating, on the stove I brown diced bacon, draining on paper towels when crisped and reserving a tiny bit of the fat. In the reserved bacon juice, I saute onion, carrot and tomato. I always use more carrot and tomato than the recipe calls for. The carrot pairs nicely with the black beans. I add 2 chicken bouillon and then add this mixture to the beans in the crockpot. Cook on low-medium for maybe an hour, depending on your crockpot's temperature. I cook rice in the rice cooker while the beans are cooking. I garnish with parsley or cilantro, fresh salsa or sour cream. Leftovers are to die for. You can add more liquid or chicken stock and make this a soup. Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersinfrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope Valley, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used a pound of dry black beans and added 1/2 pound of ground sausage, in addition to the bacon. I browned the sausage with the onion and garlic. Cooked the bacon separately. I omitted the tomato and carrot. Seasoned with seasoning salt, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper, cayenne pepper, and, black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States