Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very tasty...and made enough to feed an army! I omitted the cayenne and it was still flavorful and delicious. Used homemade beef broth instead of the vegetable. Made a great side, but was a phenomenal enchilada filler with some taco beef, fresh spinach, corn, and Mexican cheese blend. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good and easy to make. I did everything as written only I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and I added some salt. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Delicious! I am going vegetarian but my family is not planning to. But with recipes like this, they are totally happy without meat! Love the spices. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The best I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
He used granulated chicken boullion in the water for rice and we only had one can of black beans, so we added a can of corn and fresh chopped tomatoes. And he doubled the cumin and cayenne. This dish is fabulous!! Full of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this for the first time completely "as is" and doubled the recipe for my "taco bar" deck party. It was delicious. Very simple flavors while being very tasty! One party attendee said it was the best beans and rice she had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved this recipe! It's a great base for a lot of Mexican dishes and makes a great meal in itself. My husband and I are trying to go vegetarian and this will be a staple in our diet. I plan to add some salsa, corn tortillas, and enchilada sauce to the leftovers for another dinner this week. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The ingredients make a tasty dish but I think the cumin should be sauted with the rice instead of mixing in at the end as the spice needs some time to cook to release flavours. I used chicken broth as that was what I have on hand. Easy way to have black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Fabulous! Easy to prepare, perfect amount of spice, and HEALTHY! 3.5 cups of beans is equal to two 15 oz cans. I only had one can of black beans, so I used a can of kidney beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Definitely a good base but I did double the garlic and added fresh chopped tomatoes. I also added 1/2 tsp of oregano and chopped a can of olives which I added at the end. Kids and wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midvale, Utah, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States