Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I tried it with 2 tsp of cumin, a can of tomatoes with chiles, 1 1/2 cups frozen corn, a can of beans, and chicken broth. It was great to me, but too spicy for the hubby (I think it was the chiles...). Next time I may cut back to the 1 tsp of cumin and try the chile powder and maybe some lime or cilantro. Great template recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I added chopped jalapeno and twice as much garlic to the sauté, twice as much cumin, a small can of corn, diced fresh tomatoes and topped with diced avocado. We loved it and will make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Great flavor and super simple. I made it with green onion because it was all I had on hand, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandrsmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very good, very fast & easy. Makes enough for 2 adults for dinner plus just a dab left for 1 person lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I wanted to find a simple recipe, and this was it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
substituted chicken stock for veg broth + added another 1/2 (rice was burning). Also followed suggestion and added diced tomatoes & corn. Added a dash of kosher salt. Hearty vegetarian meal. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Jarecki Lund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is one of my favorite dishes. It works as a great side dish for chicken or it can be the main course and you can pair it with a salad. I doubled all of the spices and added 1 TBS of Cajun seasoning too. Also, be sure to add a can of diced tomatoes at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Easy to make and delicious. I served it with salsa & sour cream on the side. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We enjoyed this but it was a lot of cumin! I like cumin, but this was overpowering slightly. Easy recipe, I think some chopped tomatoes added in at the end would have been a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Since I've been trying to eat a primarily natural vegan diet (no tofu and other processed vegetarian/vegan foods) I've been trying to find good, filling recipes. This is definitely a keeper. I added 4-5 cloves of garlic instead of 2 because, let's be honest, you can't get enough garlic. I also used a medium sized onion. I used brown rice instead of white, and added a can of fire roasted tomatoes. Didn't have cayenne, so used the cumin and added some tumeric. I did have to use a lot of homemade veggie broth because of the brown rice, and that added salt to the recipe. Next time I'll probably use half veggie broth and half water. Roasted some corn and had that as a side. Topped it off with some guacamole. Overall very good dish. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States