Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I loved this! I love this site. It isn't about all the recipes it is about the reviews and being able to see what other people did to make it better for them and picking and choosing what you want to change so it is the best it can be the first time. I sautéed the onions in the olive oil and a tablespoon of butter. I added the garlic with the rice. After the rice browned up some I added the spices (1 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder - no cayenne). Then I used chicken broth, because I didn't have vegetable broth, brought it to a boil and simmered, covered for 25 minutes. I drained a can of corn a can of black beans and semi drained a can of Rotel. I added that to the cooked rice with about 1/2 teaspoon of lime juice. Warmed everything through and viola! Yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Five star only because it's a great starter recipe. That said, it cries out for embellishments. Think chopped cilantro, avocado based salsa and some sour cream served on the side. A splash of lime here or there? I haven't read the reviews, so hope I'm not being redundant. Black beans and rice is one of those dishes you can't ruin. You can make it your own. Just always use fresh ingredients. I would be blown away if I got this at a tail-gate party before a Giants game! All you need is tacos or tortillas, lots of beer, And LUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I don't like reviews where the recipe wasn't followed but I didn't have any of the spices. I used 2 tsp of taco seasoning instead of cumin and cayenne but I cooked it the same way. I will try some of the suggestions in the reviews and add more vegetables and additional seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great dish, loved the flavours and kick from the cayenne pepper. My wife wants as regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I would add less beans, but the taste is amazing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
These were delicious! They actually came out a little spicer than I was expecting the cumin and cayanne to make them. I followed the recipe as is, and these made for a wonderful side. Make sure to check your rice, mine was a touch (just a touch) on the crunchy side. I'm not just going to use this as a side though, this is going into my next taco or burrito night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Pretty tasty. Good healthy alternative for a meat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe ROCKS! The only changes that I made were: I added 1 can of Rotel, a small can of corn (drained). I substituted beef broth for vegetable broth, and added the amount of cayenne and cumin to 1/2 teaspoon each. Then since I can't cook rice to save myself, I cooked the rice in a rice cooker, and added it last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
So-so, not really worth it. Didn't taste like much to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States