Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very Very Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made mine healthier by using quinoa instead of rice and also added the cilantro. Add grilled chicken and you've got a complete dish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLBagain11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Great in a wrap with cheese, corn and salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I made this today for dinner as a side with chicken. It is a keeper as written. I always follow the recipe as written before changing anything. However, I did add the cayenne pepper in stages to taste. This recipe makes more than enough to feed a family. Leftovers will be used in burritos tomorrow. We are cutting salt out of our diet so I used unsalted vegetable broth and no salt added black beans. Salt can be added at the table if wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I loved this but like everyone else I tweeked it! Used chicken broth instead of vege, used chili powder instead of cayenne, added 1 cup of crushed tomatoes, small can of green chilis, half a can of corn, and 3 shakes of tabasco! And it turned this recipe up on its head! Oh ya and I simmer cooked it on low(1) setting for 30 minutes more than recipe called for to let all ingredients merge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Fixed it tonight for the first time and my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This recipe was very good however, I must say, I was worried it wouldn't be too flavorful so I jazzed it up a bit. I followed most of the recipe's components however as I sauteed the rice, I added a packet of Goya Saizon for some flavor. In addition, I mixed in a packet of Goya Chicken seasoning into the water when I added it. I chopped up four small tomatoes and added them with a bit of chopped green peppers that I had left over from my main which were fajitas. I wasn't sure if the beans and seasoning were suppose to be added after the rice was cooked or not so I just threw then in with the tomatoes. I only used one can of black beans however because I felt like 3 and 1/2 was a bit excessive. All and all, I must say, I was quite impressed! I usually buy the pre made rice mixes as they're easier but I didn't have any on hand and thus I created my own. Not sure how close this is to the original with all the changes but my husband and I thought this was outrageous! Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deligirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delicious! I added half of lime juice, cilantro, and some green onion. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was great! I used two cans of "sensibly seasoned" black beans instead of plain, and it didn't need any extra spice at all. Very easy and will definitely be making this one again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
If I could give this 3 and half stars, that would be ideal. :) This is a great starter recipe, but definitely needed a bit of tweaking. For me, it was too much cayenne, not nearly enough salt, and definitely needed more cumin. I doubled the cumin, used full salt chicken broth, flavored the broth with the cumin and cayenne to infuse the rice with the flavors. I saw someone suggest using lime, but I didn't have any. However I did have some Chili Lime rub, so I added that, yum! If I'd had cilantro and salsa, they would have been welcome additions. I made homemade tortillas to go with, and accidentally oversalted them, but it evened out with the slightly bland rice and beans. It's definitely a great starter, but it needs your own flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reedwoman814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States