Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
These were delicious! They actually came out a little spicer than I was expecting the cumin and cayanne to make them. I followed the recipe as is, and these made for a wonderful side. Make sure to check your rice, mine was a touch (just a touch) on the crunchy side. I'm not just going to use this as a side though, this is going into my next taco or burrito night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Pretty tasty. Good healthy alternative for a meat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe ROCKS! The only changes that I made were: I added 1 can of Rotel, a small can of corn (drained). I substituted beef broth for vegetable broth, and added the amount of cayenne and cumin to 1/2 teaspoon each. Then since I can't cook rice to save myself, I cooked the rice in a rice cooker, and added it last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
So-so, not really worth it. Didn't taste like much to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great, simple recipe. I use 1tsp of home made meat rub and 1tsp home chipotle chili powder instead of the cumin and cayenne. I also added package of chicken andouille sausage, sliced and chopped, to the rice and onion as it sautéed before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This recipe alone was a little bland for my tastes. Then I followed the advice if some others and added a can of corn and a can of rotel. It was delicious...especially paired with an avacado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I tried it with 2 tsp of cumin, a can of tomatoes with chiles, 1 1/2 cups frozen corn, a can of beans, and chicken broth. It was great to me, but too spicy for the hubby (I think it was the chiles...). Next time I may cut back to the 1 tsp of cumin and try the chile powder and maybe some lime or cilantro. Great template recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I added chopped jalapeno and twice as much garlic to the sauté, twice as much cumin, a small can of corn, diced fresh tomatoes and topped with diced avocado. We loved it and will make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Great flavor and super simple. I made it with green onion because it was all I had on hand, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandrsmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States