Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! Doubled the garlic,heavy on the onions and used chicken broth. Even better when adding 1 lb. Andouille and/or Cajun Chicken sausauge sliced and a diced green bell pepper! I make this frequently now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom to four
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I love love love this recipe. I tweaked it a bit by adding a can of corn, a can of tomatoes with peppers, I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock and put more spices in it. I love that this is low calorie and fat. It's so good. Must make this soon like tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I agree that the recipe in and of itself was very boring. Since I figured this out along the way, I added red capsicum to the onions and garlic, more garlic, lots of coriander, a teaspoon of Massel veggie stock, a tin of crushed tomatoes and some chili. Then we had something yummy that we'll return to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenTimely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe and it was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
So far this is my favorite rice & bean dish. I went heavy on the onion, used 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and added a 1/2 tsp of paprika. I also used beef bullion since that was all I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
everyone loves when i make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for my vegetarian daughter and her husband to help out after they went home with their first baby last week. I left out the cayenne pepper, as she isn't much for too hot, and I did add the can of corn, the can of diced tomatoes with chiles, and an extra can of black beans, all drained. I did what several other have said and doubled the cumin and added 2 t. turmeric and 1 T. lime juice. When I got home, I made the same thing for us using chicken broth and adding a scant 1/4 t. cayenne. Every one of us loved it! It was a bit on the hot side for me, but I still enjoyed it, and my husband, who loves hot food, found it perfect for his taste as well. Adult kids fought over the leftovers! Took more than the listed 5 minutes of prep, but still easy. Husband said "definitely make this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Some changes that I made after reading other reviews: I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock (better flavor) and I also added bacon pieces. I would make this again, except adding more bacon, it really complimented everything and left me want more bacon flavor. I sautéed the bacon with the onion before adding anything else. I then added the rice and sautéed for about 2 minutes, finally adding the chicken stock. When I added the beans and the seasoning I through in a pinch of cayenne (I like it spicy!). The bacon made everything better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Sherrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good recipe. I used less cayenne pepper than what was stated in the recipe because I don't enjoy overly spicy dishes. I also added other spices & ingredients that weren't mentioned in the recipe, such as undrained diced stewed tomatoes, small red beans, less black beans, chopped green onions and Tex-Mex seasoning. I used brown rice instead of white & added more vegetable broth to the mix to allow for additional cooking time. This ended up being a very tasty dish that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
The cumin was overpowering, and it needed something else. I think I should have added the tomatoes or a cup of salsa maybe to try to add some more flavors to it. (I followed it exactly). Maybe green chilies, more garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States