Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Makes too large a quantity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good, I would cut the cayenne pepper in half and/or possibly use freesh peppers instead. Also, we added a can of corn and wrapped it in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My family loves this as a side dish with fish tacos and I have added chicken and other meats to make a meal out of this recipe. I add fresh lime juice and this really sets the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
added 1 can corn and 1 can diced tomatos. It was very good but more of a light lunch or side dish item. I also used wild rice in place of white rice but cooked per directions. Great little dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
this was good! tasted very similar to black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These are perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used basamati rice. Ended up mushy but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Absolutely Amazing!! I've tried countless recipes from this website, but this is the first review I've ever made. I took the advice of other reviewers and this is what I came up with - for the broth I mixed liquid reserved from 1 can of "Original" Rotel diced chilies and tomatoes, 1 1/2 TBSP chicken bouillon and water up to the 1 1/2 C mark. 1 onion, 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 can whole kernel corn, 1 can black beans, 1 tsp cumin, and the drained Rotel diced chilies and tomatoes. No need for cayenne. I topped it with grilled lemon pepper chicken slices and chopped cilantro. It looked like something you would see in a magazine and tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BouncinTigger96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I was really surprised how good this is. AFter reading comments I thought it was going to be bland but it isn't. The spices are perfect for the dish. I do agree one way to change it would be to add canned tomatoes, fresh cilantro and diced avocado. I only give it 4 stars because I save all my 5 star ratings for other-the-top-good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States