Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
this was good! tasted very similar to black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These are perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used basamati rice. Ended up mushy but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Absolutely Amazing!! I've tried countless recipes from this website, but this is the first review I've ever made. I took the advice of other reviewers and this is what I came up with - for the broth I mixed liquid reserved from 1 can of "Original" Rotel diced chilies and tomatoes, 1 1/2 TBSP chicken bouillon and water up to the 1 1/2 C mark. 1 onion, 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 can whole kernel corn, 1 can black beans, 1 tsp cumin, and the drained Rotel diced chilies and tomatoes. No need for cayenne. I topped it with grilled lemon pepper chicken slices and chopped cilantro. It looked like something you would see in a magazine and tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BouncinTigger96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I was really surprised how good this is. AFter reading comments I thought it was going to be bland but it isn't. The spices are perfect for the dish. I do agree one way to change it would be to add canned tomatoes, fresh cilantro and diced avocado. I only give it 4 stars because I save all my 5 star ratings for other-the-top-good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I added a small can of diced tomatos and used chicken broth instead of vegetable. Turned out great! Next time I'll try Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Just reading this recipe, I knew it would need some adjusting, in part because I always cook with brown rice. My cook time was around 40 min on the rice. I used 1/2 the beans v-- 1 can black beans + 3/4 c. rice brought the proportions relatively even. Also used 1 Tbsp oil rather than 1 tsp & added a little lime juice toward the end. The spice level was OK for my 2 year-old and 8 month old twins. If you like spicy foods, I recommend additional cayenne. The 2nd time making, added diced tomatoes, a bay leaf, & included both red & black beans, which was more well-received than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very tasty and filling. As previous reviewers suggested, I added a can of corn and a can of diced tomatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I'm rating this 5 starts because I want people to try it, but I did not in fact stick to the recipe. I added a can of Rotel, used chicken broth, added corn, and used just a sprinkle of cayenne. This is a fantastic basic recipe though, and I think would be hard to ruin as you experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States