Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for my vegetarian daughter and her husband to help out after they went home with their first baby last week. I left out the cayenne pepper, as she isn't much for too hot, and I did add the can of corn, the can of diced tomatoes with chiles, and an extra can of black beans, all drained. I did what several other have said and doubled the cumin and added 2 t. turmeric and 1 T. lime juice. When I got home, I made the same thing for us using chicken broth and adding a scant 1/4 t. cayenne. Every one of us loved it! It was a bit on the hot side for me, but I still enjoyed it, and my husband, who loves hot food, found it perfect for his taste as well. Adult kids fought over the leftovers! Took more than the listed 5 minutes of prep, but still easy. Husband said "definitely make this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Some changes that I made after reading other reviews: I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock (better flavor) and I also added bacon pieces. I would make this again, except adding more bacon, it really complimented everything and left me want more bacon flavor. I sautéed the bacon with the onion before adding anything else. I then added the rice and sautéed for about 2 minutes, finally adding the chicken stock. When I added the beans and the seasoning I through in a pinch of cayenne (I like it spicy!). The bacon made everything better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Sherrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good recipe. I used less cayenne pepper than what was stated in the recipe because I don't enjoy overly spicy dishes. I also added other spices & ingredients that weren't mentioned in the recipe, such as undrained diced stewed tomatoes, small red beans, less black beans, chopped green onions and Tex-Mex seasoning. I used brown rice instead of white & added more vegetable broth to the mix to allow for additional cooking time. This ended up being a very tasty dish that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
The cumin was overpowering, and it needed something else. I think I should have added the tomatoes or a cup of salsa maybe to try to add some more flavors to it. (I followed it exactly). Maybe green chilies, more garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe is perfect as written but so versatile. I added white corn cut from the cob which added a wonderful crunch texture and a couple of fresh tomatoes diced for added color and flavor. I didn't have vegetable broth so I used chicken broth instead. Thanks for a tasty and healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I loved this! I love this site. It isn't about all the recipes it is about the reviews and being able to see what other people did to make it better for them and picking and choosing what you want to change so it is the best it can be the first time. I sautéed the onions in the olive oil and a tablespoon of butter. I added the garlic with the rice. After the rice browned up some I added the spices (1 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder - no cayenne). Then I used chicken broth, because I didn't have vegetable broth, brought it to a boil and simmered, covered for 25 minutes. I drained a can of corn a can of black beans and semi drained a can of Rotel. I added that to the cooked rice with about 1/2 teaspoon of lime juice. Warmed everything through and viola! Yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Five star only because it's a great starter recipe. That said, it cries out for embellishments. Think chopped cilantro, avocado based salsa and some sour cream served on the side. A splash of lime here or there? I haven't read the reviews, so hope I'm not being redundant. Black beans and rice is one of those dishes you can't ruin. You can make it your own. Just always use fresh ingredients. I would be blown away if I got this at a tail-gate party before a Giants game! All you need is tacos or tortillas, lots of beer, And LUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I don't like reviews where the recipe wasn't followed but I didn't have any of the spices. I used 2 tsp of taco seasoning instead of cumin and cayenne but I cooked it the same way. I will try some of the suggestions in the reviews and add more vegetables and additional seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great dish, loved the flavours and kick from the cayenne pepper. My wife wants as regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I would add less beans, but the taste is amazing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States