Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Good. I throw other ingredients in to make it my own. A squirt of lime really sets this off. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great recipe! And so easy to make. I use a little more olive oil to sauté but that's just my preference. I often double this recipe for larger get togethers. Leave or take out the cayenne to suit your families taste. I like to make this with the sweet cornbread recipe on this site. I know, strange, but MAN it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Amazing~~just swapped the rice for quinoa b/c I love that. And this is actually something I can make on a regular basis, yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very easy to make and was really good. Husband loved it. It is spicy so if you don't want it to be use half of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is a great basic recipe! My family likes spicy so I jazzed it up with some chipotle seasoning and a hot chili powder, but it's certainly not necessary. Also, I had to add about 1/2 cup more broth (I used low sodium chicken) to keep it moist. All in all a great side dish! Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! Doubled the garlic,heavy on the onions and used chicken broth. Even better when adding 1 lb. Andouille and/or Cajun Chicken sausauge sliced and a diced green bell pepper! I make this frequently now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom to four
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I love love love this recipe. I tweaked it a bit by adding a can of corn, a can of tomatoes with peppers, I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock and put more spices in it. I love that this is low calorie and fat. It's so good. Must make this soon like tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I agree that the recipe in and of itself was very boring. Since I figured this out along the way, I added red capsicum to the onions and garlic, more garlic, lots of coriander, a teaspoon of Massel veggie stock, a tin of crushed tomatoes and some chili. Then we had something yummy that we'll return to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenTimely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe and it was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
So far this is my favorite rice & bean dish. I went heavy on the onion, used 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and added a 1/2 tsp of paprika. I also used beef bullion since that was all I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States