Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I'll never make another boxed mix again. This was excellent. Cayenne produced a little bite, cumin levels were great for my family. Forgot to measure the beans and used 1 can, which was enough as a side dish. Not quite enough beans for a main dish. I'll use 2 cans next time, which is probably closer to the recipe anyway. Might have to up the spices if I do add more beans, as it was just perfect the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
very easy to make and tastes great!! I just added diced tomatoes and used chicken broth. Went great with Jiffy cornbread on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This was an excellent side dish. I followed the direction, but threw in a can of Rotel tomatoes (the lime spiced up version). A couple of my children thought it a little too spicy, but most of us thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chmeliar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Made as is. I thought this very bland. May try again with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I really enjoyed this quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I really enjoyed this dish, but what was more telling is that my family went back for seconds. So, IMO - that takes this from 4 stars to 5. I did very slight modifications, that don't really change the recipe but enhance it based on our tastes: I used low sodium chicken broth, added a can of rotel, and about a table spoon of diced pimentos. Topped with reduced fat cheese and low fat sour cream, served next to a nice green salad... and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I had to add a tsp of cumin, 1 15oz can of tomatoes and 1 can of pinto beans. Used lemon juice but lime would have been better. Maybe, I'll add a red and green bell pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
fantastic dish, made this last night we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I found this recipe to be a great base. I then added home made salsa to add a bit of zip. Easy and tasty! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I really loved this..quite a change from all the holiday cooking . I have decided to eat healthier and chose this recipe.I added double garlic and tomatoes and basil and crushed red pepper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley VanWagoner
Home Town: Elmo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States