Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
substituted chicken stock for veg broth + added another 1/2 (rice was burning). Also followed suggestion and added diced tomatoes & corn. Added a dash of kosher salt. Hearty vegetarian meal. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is one of my favorite dishes. It works as a great side dish for chicken or it can be the main course and you can pair it with a salad. I doubled all of the spices and added 1 TBS of Cajun seasoning too. Also, be sure to add a can of diced tomatoes at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Easy to make and delicious. I served it with salsa & sour cream on the side. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We enjoyed this but it was a lot of cumin! I like cumin, but this was overpowering slightly. Easy recipe, I think some chopped tomatoes added in at the end would have been a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Since I've been trying to eat a primarily natural vegan diet (no tofu and other processed vegetarian/vegan foods) I've been trying to find good, filling recipes. This is definitely a keeper. I added 4-5 cloves of garlic instead of 2 because, let's be honest, you can't get enough garlic. I also used a medium sized onion. I used brown rice instead of white, and added a can of fire roasted tomatoes. Didn't have cayenne, so used the cumin and added some tumeric. I did have to use a lot of homemade veggie broth because of the brown rice, and that added salt to the recipe. Next time I'll probably use half veggie broth and half water. Roasted some corn and had that as a side. Topped it off with some guacamole. Overall very good dish. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I followed the directions then added 3/4c of Trader Joes spicy black bean dip, a little salsa and a can of stewed tomatoes. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Try adding a tablespoon of sour cream on top, or make burritos out of the mixture. Add some hot sauce to get a solid kick. Love comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe, except using dried beans instead of canned and brown rice instead of white. Very bland dry. I added fresh tomatoes to make it more moist. I put the leftovers in a soft tortilla shell with shredded cheese for quesidillas. Much better to eat that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Yes, it's a good recipe. My boyfriend loves it and keeps eating it and I loved it, too. I added a pinch of garlic and a pinch of paprika. Also, I reduced h2o to a cup because I washed the white rice. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scarlett R.
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made the modifications suggested, turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States