Black Beans and Rice Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I'm a fan of this recipe! I debated between 4 or 5 stars and ultimately decided on 4 because I made a handful of changes to it. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I'm not a fan of onion, so I left that out. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, so I chopped up three roma tomatoes and added a bit more water to make up for the lack of tomato juice. Instead of using frozen corn, I used an ear of fresh corn and sliced off the kernels. I also added a jalapeno to give it a little bit of kick. Overall though, a good recipe! I can't wait to see how it will fare for lunch tomorrow. UPDATE: My boyfriend loves this recipe so much - it is now my go-to chili for him. I had to bump it up to 5 stars. I used a can of diced tomatoes with habeneros, and it gave it just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was awesome! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe was amazing! It was so easy and the whole family loved it! I will definitely be making it a part of my regular family dinner recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We LOVE this recipe so much. Instead of beef we used venison and it was amazing! We also made it in the crockpot. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Add an additional cup of corn and a can of black beans, and this makes a great dip for super nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was delicious and super easy to make. I did modify it slightly. Instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey. Instead of diced red pepper I used green because that's what I had. I also tossed in a can of Goya black beans undrained, an additional cup of corn and added cumin for additional flavor. I shared with my friends and they can't stop raving about how good this recipe is. I plan on making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Quick and easy and the whole family loved it. I used ground turkey instead of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I had no clue what to expect from this seeing that I had never had Zatarran's beans/rice. We were definitely impressed and the whole house smells amazing. My boyfriend and I debated between 4 and 5 stars and finally decided on 5 because of how cheap, fast, and easy it was yet still delicious. This dish did not lack any flavor regardless of how easy/fast it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Incredibly easy and significantly more filling than I had anticipated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Was pretty good, added more rice and we had with whole grain chips. Kids asked for seconds so looks like we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States