Black Beans and Rice Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I'm a fan of this recipe! I debated between 4 or 5 stars and ultimately decided on 4 because I made a handful of changes to it. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I'm not a fan of onion, so I left that out. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, so I chopped up three roma tomatoes and added a bit more water to make up for the lack of tomato juice. Instead of using frozen corn, I used an ear of fresh corn and sliced off the kernels. I also added a jalapeno to give it a little bit of kick. Overall though, a good recipe! I can't wait to see how it will fare for lunch tomorrow. UPDATE: My boyfriend loves this recipe so much - it is now my go-to chili for him. I had to bump it up to 5 stars. I used a can of diced tomatoes with habeneros, and it gave it just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe was amazing! It was so easy and the whole family loved it! I will definitely be making it a part of my regular family dinner recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I have added flank steak and chicken diced up to the chilli. My kids love it! Also it is great for throwing small amounts of left overs in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhAl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Add an additional cup of corn and a can of black beans, and this makes a great dip for super nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was delicious! I had made extra basmati rice with cilantro and lime and was looking for something to do with it. I followed the directions. However, where it called for the rice pack, I added a 2 cups of already cooked rice and a can of black beans. I added some salt and some garlic salt because I wasn't using the seasoning packet from the box. My entire family loved this, including a 1, 3, and 6 year old:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Hoover Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Surprisingly this was very good. I was looking for something quick and easy so thought I would try this recipe. I didn't have any garlic powder so used crushed garlic instead. I also didn't have crushed red pepper so just used regular pepper. I'm only rating it 4 starts because the hubs thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I had no clue what to expect from this seeing that I had never had Zatarran's beans/rice. We were definitely impressed and the whole house smells amazing. My boyfriend and I debated between 4 and 5 stars and finally decided on 5 because of how cheap, fast, and easy it was yet still delicious. This dish did not lack any flavor regardless of how easy/fast it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Was pretty good, added more rice and we had with whole grain chips. Kids asked for seconds so looks like we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was awesome! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We LOVE this recipe so much. Instead of beef we used venison and it was amazing! We also made it in the crockpot. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States