Black Beans and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Awesome, tasted great without any recipe modifications. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
We have this ALL the time! My husband asks for it. He's away at work a lot eating on the road and wants good meal when he comes home & he will ask about every 10-14 days for us to eat this. Now, he's not into spicy like I am so our salsa has to be mild. We cook 1 cup of white long grain rice as well to mix with it on our own plates. Yum. Oh yeah...we use 2 cans of beans & 12 oz jar of salsa instead of 1 cup (8 oz) and we use open faced butterfly chops or the thick boneless chops 4-6 :-). This feeds a lot of folks...we eat as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Amazing flavors. I made my own salsa to my liking (spicy, lots of garlic, a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis, and a small can of diced jalapeños +garlic and onion of course), added lime juice and cumin as recommended and served with Spanish rice from the packet. Only used 2 medium chops though and found that that to be plenty. The sauce was a little soupy when served which got messy when I tried to cut it with a steak knife but so worth it. Next time I will remove the chops from the sauce and slice up on a cutting board and return to the sauce to make it easier to eat. I did then with my son's and it worked great. I also served with tortilla chips which was brilliant because I was able to scoop up salsa and beans at the end. Very filling, A+ in my book. PS no fresh cilantro at the store so had to use dried cilantro. Would have been better with fresh I'm sure. PS only cost $12 bucks to make including the tortilla chips and rice. I did have onion and spices on hand though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
simple and easy. I added garlic powder to the pork when browning. Served with mashed potatoes and everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I will definitely be telling others. My 4 year old is a picky eater and after tasting my plate, he ask for his own. I did season my chops with Saazon all purpose season, cumin, and a lil Cajun seasoning for added spice along with black pepper and then followed instruction as listed. Serve with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
SIMPLE, quick and delicious. Followed recipe exactly and following other viewers suggestions I spiced up the chops a bit by rubbing in some Goya Seasoning with pepper and some chili powder on them. Also, added a small can of corn at the end of cooking. Served with Spanish Rice. I used thin pork chops since that was all I had and I would reduce the cooking time to 20 min. the next time if the chops were thin. Squeezing some lime juice on the dish when platted was a nice touch. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We loved this delicious and easy recipe. I cooked it in a skillet on the stovetop, 25-30 minutes. Served it over rice with shredded cheddar cheese on top. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Pretty good, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Followed recipe as is other than the pork chop seasoning, I used garlic salt and pepper. This was easy and delicious. I was concerned my husband wouldn't like it because he hates meat cooked in sauce (aka...any crock pot meal grrr) but he loved this! So tender and simple. I served with rice, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
We loved this just as it was. We did decide, that we could even add a second can of the beans and leave out the porchops for a great meatless dish. We did serve it over brown rice. I packed the leftovers for lunch and can't wait to have it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States