Black Beans and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Loved this meal. It was delicious. I put it in the crock pot, porkchops uncooked, cilantro on top, salsa, black beans. Cooked on high for 3 hours. Pork chops falling apart,so tender, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was FAN-TASTIC!!! And it's ridiculous how simple it was to make! I made the recipe as is, only adding a squeeze of fresh lime to enhance the salsa flavor. Wonderful! We also used thick cut (easily 1 1/2 wide) pork chops that we got from Costco and they only took 35 minutes to cook all the way through. We served the whole dish over a bed of rice ... My husband is already asking to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynda
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
We prepared this dish as in the recipe, but with boneless butterfly porkchops. It was very quick, simple and tasty! Along with some yellow rice, the whole meal cost no more than $7 to feed four! Next time, I think we will probably add some spices to the pork chop such as cumin and chili powder to enhance the flavor of the pork chop and tie it into the flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was nervous about making this because my husband is really picky and sure enough, he didn't like the combination of the chops and beans. I, on the other hand, LOVED it! It reminded me of my dad's authentic Mexican Charro beans. I'll be making this again whether my husband likes it or not :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I loved this! I made mine with low fat mushroom soup, added some frozen green peppers, used Medium Chunky Salsa, stirred and served over rice with shredded cheddar on top! IT was fabulous! It had a mild zing, tasted great and my fiance who isn't a huge Tex-mex fan gave it 9.5 out of 10 stars! I used 4 pork chops and increased the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Plate licking good! I seasoned my pork with some chili powder, garlic, season salt, and onion powder. I also served mine over rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe. Very simple, economical, tender and delicious. I've already made this a couple times. I actually followed the recipe closely (which is unlike me), except for sprinkling the chops with a shake of adobo seasoning before browning. Definitely use the BONE-IN chops. I always use boneless and was reluctant, but so glad I used the bone-in. They seem to be so much more flavorful and definitely less expensive. And my daughter (who is usu. pretending she is a of wolf or some type of cat) loved gnawing on the bones! I served with extra chopped cilantro on the side and yellow Goya rice. My husband said the flavor was very Cuban, and the combo of the pork juices, salsa and black beans is unbelievably flavorful. Since I had so much leftover cilantro, I chopped it all up, wrapped it well and froze it for next time. Since you're using the cilantro for cooking, the flavor is the same, even if the appearance isn't. Saved me from buying another bunch of cilantro and throwing most of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I seasoned my pork chops with chipotle pepper, salt, and black pepper before browning them. Leftover homemade salsa and the black beans were stirred together and poured over the pork chops in the slow cooker and cooked on high for three hours. Seasoned with fresh cilantro as the recipe directed, we all loved this simple yet delectable meal. For those tempted to use boneless pork chops, pork cooked with the bone stays moister and the meat around the bone is a real prize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I admit I freely seasoned while browning with cumin, salt, garlic and onion. I omitted cilantro because my husband dislikes it. This was surprisingly good. A big hit. Soo easy, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Very good recipe for how easy it is. The only reason I gave it 4 is because of the amount of sodium in a can of black beans. I rubbed some minced fresh ginger, salt, pepper and cumin on the pork chops before cooking. Great served over brown rice. The sauce is better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States