Black Beans and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lynda
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
We prepared this dish as in the recipe, but with boneless butterfly porkchops. It was very quick, simple and tasty! Along with some yellow rice, the whole meal cost no more than $7 to feed four! Next time, I think we will probably add some spices to the pork chop such as cumin and chili powder to enhance the flavor of the pork chop and tie it into the flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a fantastic and very easy recipe. The pork chops come out nice and juicy and the flavor is wonderful. Incredibly easy to put together. Hardly any prep work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was FAN-TASTIC!!! And it's ridiculous how simple it was to make! I made the recipe as is, only adding a squeeze of fresh lime to enhance the salsa flavor. Wonderful! We also used thick cut (easily 1 1/2 wide) pork chops that we got from Costco and they only took 35 minutes to cook all the way through. We served the whole dish over a bed of rice ... My husband is already asking to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Very good recipe for how easy it is. The only reason I gave it 4 is because of the amount of sodium in a can of black beans. I rubbed some minced fresh ginger, salt, pepper and cumin on the pork chops before cooking. Great served over brown rice. The sauce is better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Plate licking good! I seasoned my pork with some chili powder, garlic, season salt, and onion powder. I also served mine over rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Loved this meal. It was delicious. I put it in the crock pot, porkchops uncooked, cilantro on top, salsa, black beans. Cooked on high for 3 hours. Pork chops falling apart,so tender, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I seasoned my pork chops with chipotle pepper, salt, and black pepper before browning them. Leftover homemade salsa and the black beans were stirred together and poured over the pork chops in the slow cooker and cooked on high for three hours. Seasoned with fresh cilantro as the recipe directed, we all loved this simple yet delectable meal. For those tempted to use boneless pork chops, pork cooked with the bone stays moister and the meat around the bone is a real prize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This tasted good, but I thought the other flavors over-powered the taste of the pork. But it's quick, simple and full of protein. I rinsed off the beans, then added a bit of water to the pan in an effort to reduce the overall sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I don't know why this recipe is so delicious, but it works! It is alomost impossible to mess up. You can add all kinds of things (garlic, onions, red pepper flakes, lime, etc.) but there really isn't a need. I will be making this again for sure. p.s. instead of regular pork chops I used pork shoulder blades. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Wow!! is all I can say about this recipe. It's my husband's favorite way to eat pork chops now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States