Black Beans and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this as directed and it turned out well. It's a quick and easy meal and a great way to keep pork chops moist. I recommend using at least a medium salsa to give it some heat, and a black bean and corn salsa would work perfectly in this. You could also add peppers, corn or other vegetables to your taste to make it a 1-dish complete meal. Also, even though I love salt, I found there is no need to add salt at any point since it's all in the black bean liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is a quick, great tasting dish for pork chops. My husband is very picky and not a huge pork fan and he loved it! I cookced mine.on low heat for probabluly an hour and the Lorri just fell apart. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is a really great recipe! Very easy with minimal ingredients. I will for sure be making this again. My hubby loved it as much as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I didn't have black beans so I subsituted them for roman beans. Other then the I followed the recipe. My husband loved it. I served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Since I didn't have pork chops, I made this with chicken. It came out too soupy for me and, maybe because I used a mild salsa, I tasted mostly black beans. I also very lightly seasoned the chicken with pepper, garlic powder, garlic salt, chili and cumin. Nonetheless, this was okay. Next time I will drain some of the liquid from the black beans and use pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
better on chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Not to our taste. I cooked on very low, and the pork chops were so dry. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This meal was awesome, I love black beans so it will become a favorite in my household. I added cumin, and creole seasoning to the pork chops and a whole onion after frying the pork chops. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was YUMMMMY! Very easy to make and tasted delish! Even my TWO yr old ate it up : ) Will def. make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is a very good, very simple dish. The only thing I would change for next time is to dice the pork chops before letting the dish simmer for 30 minutes. I doubt it would even need that long and the beans and salsa wouldn't stick to the bottom of the pan as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States