Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Served on rice, this was like salsa stew. Very warm and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Okay...add salt. But otherwise, this is one of the most fabulous (and healthy!) recipes on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Make this, you'll thank me later. I make one change when I make mine..Instead of the tomatoes and tomato sauce, I use the habanero rotel tomatoes. So amazing when served over yellow rice. This was one of those recipes I stumbled on and have made it over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love this as a filling for vegetarian/vegan burritos! Made it tonight and added some tumeric for color, flavor and health benefits. Left out cilantro and cayenne as neither hubs nor I like it. I suggest simmering it a bit longer to reduce the liquid which gives a thicker, better consistency for taco or burrito filling. If left runnier, would be awesome on rice! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
My family loves this dish, hence 5 stars. However, I think I would omit the onion completely except for the green onion, and would use less tomato sauce because I agree with the other reviewer that the tomato flavor overwhelmed the black beans. I was disappointed that the black beans didn't feature more prominently. The fresh cilantro and spices were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is really delicious, and fast & easy to make. It takes a little reminiscent of a good vegetarian chili. I didn't have the green onions or enough cilantro, but the rest of the flavors carry the dish. I would even consider adding more beans for a ratio of 1.5 beans to 1 tomato sauce. This dish works great on its own for lunch, or over rice, or on top of a cheese quesadilla for dinner. I will definitely keep this in my rotation, though I will continue to look for a recipe for delicious beans for burrito fillings/side dish with home-made Mexican. By the way, the "Best Spanish Rice" recipe on allrecipes.com is fantastic and goes great with these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I've made this countless times..always delicious and makes a nice vegetarian meal served with rice cooked in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really good dish with a definite spice kick. I love spice, but those of you who aren't fans might need to adjust the measurements. After reading the reviews, I cut down on the amount of cilantro. I processed 1/4 cup and used only that. I like cilantro and didn't find the amount I used to be overwhelming, but the dish itself would still be wonderful if you want to omit this herb. Other modifications I made: I used 1 onion instead of 2, used 3 diced roma tomatoes, and allowed the ingredients to simmer for approx 30 minutes. Served this over rice and used leftovers for burritos. Will definitely make this again! Thanks Kimmers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was great for bean burritos w/some sprouts inside. I did not have cayenne pepper so I finely chopped 1/4 cup of jalepenos. Loved the spicy kick will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very tasty and aromatic. It's easy to make, and a great way to use up a big bunch of fresh cilantro. We wrapped it up with steamed flour tortillas. The only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is because of how it looks. The colors and texture are unappetizing. But the taste is five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States