Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Simple! Tasty! Throw some cilantro in there, man... don't be afraid. Yeah, and some tomato too. That's going to put this through the roof. Add a little funky to it! Don't forget to cumin up that rice, give it that zingy zang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I think there may be a typo in the amount of water. According to the directions on the box of rice, you will need 2 1/2 cups of water. I thought this was delicious and easy. I served it with the Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken from this site. A very nice weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I took it to pot luck at church and it had to be vegan. So I managed to find yellow rice that did not have chicken broth. That was not easy but the church loved it. Everyone at church wanted the recipe so I posted it on the church web site. I also made a version with mushrooms sautéed in vegan butter and soy sauce because my father loves mushrooms. I made it with yellow rice (vegan) and one with brown rice and both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Instead of using water, I substituted homemade turkey broth. I also threw in a healthy amount of fresh cilantro when I folded the rice in to the remaining ingredients. One of the best rice dishes we've had in a long time, even the kids inhaled it. NO LEFTOVERS. I made Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos and served this with it to make filling for warmed tortilla-type dinner.......great pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe! As others have mentioned it is very versatile. It would make a nice side dish or great burrito fillings (we used it for burritos topped with shredded cheese and sour cream). I make my own yellow rice (1 1/2 cups rice, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp onion flakes, 1/2 tsp garlic powder) I put all ingredients both the recipe and my rice recipe in the rice cooker and it came out perfect! My 9yr old LOVED it. I agree with others that some fresh cilantro would dress it up; however, I made it as is and it was great. This is also a PERFECT pantry/emergency dish since everything is shelf stable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
No surprises here with beans, corn and rice. This is an inexpensive meal or side dish. I did have to add an extra cup of water to the 8 oz. of rice I boiled which seemed to smoke up quite a bit. I'm guessing that this was due to the olive oil? Maybe, next time I will make the rice according to the box directions and proceed with the recipe as written. As with anything you cook and add spices to, I anticipate this tasting better on day 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Throw in a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies and it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a good healthy alternative for those who are crazy about Chipotle. However, it is bland. I want to say it is missing one other spice, but not sure what. In either case, I substitued the yellow rice for long grain brown rice, and sprinkled just a tad of lowfat mexican cheese on top. I will make this again, but maybe add something else for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
to cook the rice i followed the directions on the box...yummy side dish! i added cilantro and extra cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Good recipe and very simple. I sauted onions and garlic with olive oil, then I added brown basmati rice and water. After cooked, I added saffron and the other ingredients. Served this dish as a side dish for Chicken Enchiladas IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States