Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe! My kids love black beans and rice and this was wonderful, easy and the whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
No surprises here with beans, corn and rice. This is an inexpensive meal or side dish. I did have to add an extra cup of water to the 8 oz. of rice I boiled which seemed to smoke up quite a bit. I'm guessing that this was due to the olive oil? Maybe, next time I will make the rice according to the box directions and proceed with the recipe as written. As with anything you cook and add spices to, I anticipate this tasting better on day 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I gave this dish a three, but, I would probably rate it a 2-1/2. I like all the ingredients that go into this dish, and I love tex-mex food, but, this recipe as is was too bland for us. After tasting I even added more cumin and some chopped cilantro and still didn't have enough zing. Don't plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a good healthy alternative for those who are crazy about Chipotle. However, it is bland. I want to say it is missing one other spice, but not sure what. In either case, I substitued the yellow rice for long grain brown rice, and sprinkled just a tad of lowfat mexican cheese on top. I will make this again, but maybe add something else for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Pretty good, definitely easy. I added taco meet and velveeta cheese so the kids would eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Simple! Tasty! Throw some cilantro in there, man... don't be afraid. Yeah, and some tomato too. That's going to put this through the roof. Add a little funky to it! Don't forget to cumin up that rice, give it that zingy zang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I think there may be a typo in the amount of water. According to the directions on the box of rice, you will need 2 1/2 cups of water. I thought this was delicious and easy. I served it with the Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken from this site. A very nice weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisainfl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was very good. It hit the spot. I followed the recipe and didn't make any changes but I added cooked shrimp to it when I ate it and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I added fresh cilantro! It was amazing and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonEvans

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States