Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is an easy dish to prepare and a great way to change up the usual boring rice. I stuck with the directions on the package of rice and used 2 cups of water instead of 1 1/4. Next time I will prepare the rice as directed on the package and then add the mixture of corn and beans. I will also add some cilantro to give it a bit more flavor. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed directions, except added some red pepper flakes. I thought it was a little bland still. I didn't care for the cold corn and beans against the warm rice. maybe next time warm the bean and corn first. Husband seemed to really like. Adding some chicken and putting in a tortilla shell sounded pretty good for this, maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was great! I added sauteed garlic and onion and topped with finely shredded Havarti cheese. Great meal or side dish, this will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I've never seen a yellow rice mix and have no idea what is in that, but I had regular rice and all the other ingredients on hand so I figured, what the heck. I seasoned small samples until I found my favorite combination. I ended up using garlic, onion salt, and cumin. Will definitely make this again. It's too easy not too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is really good, but I think the cumin is a bit strong. I'd make this again with a little less cumin. Very tasty, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was really good. I didn't have any yellow rice mix so I made my own. I used a bag of frozen southwest blend vegetables instead of the canned black beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
i made this a while back from this website, but guess i forgot to save and review it. it was delicious- so much so that I am making it again tonight, but with added cilantro this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was very simple and tasty. I added Cilantro and fresh chopped tomatoes per suggestions above. Only had lemon juice and white rice and it still a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is one of my favorite easy, go-to recipes when I'm in a pinch for time. I add an additional tsp of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This recipe was very good and very easy. I just wanted a simple recipe to serve with the marinated grilled shrimp from this site. I had no idea how good it good be! The only thing I would change is using the amount of water listed on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States