Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It was extremely bland unfortunately because the bean/corn/lime/cumin mix tasted so good. I added: mexican spice, paprika, salt and pepper, tabasco and slap ya mama spice to bring it up to taste better. Probably wouldn't make it again as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Recipe will vary depending on what brand of rice you use. Where I live (SF Bay Area) the chain grocery stores carry 3 different kinds of "yellow rice": (1) Indian - mostly flavored with saffron, (2) New Orleans Style - their website has flavor ingredients listed as onion, salt, red/green bell pepper, MSG, sugar, garlic, spices (incl. tumeric & red pepper); & (3) Spanish Style - flavored with chicken bouillion, chicken flavor, chicken powder, garlic, celery, more chicken, onions, bell pepper, coriander...the point being brand #3 has a ton of chicken flavor & is likely quite different in flavor than #2. I used #3 Goya Spanish Style & found it to be quite flavorful, though I did use 2 cups of water plus 1 Tbsp oil because that's what it says to use on the package. Adding in corn, beans, cumin, lime enhances the packaged rice & I'd give the flavor of this brand of rice prepped according to pkg directions 3 1/2 stars bumped up to 4 stars for being so easy to prep with pantry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very big hit in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
There was no way that amount of water matched that amount of rice, so I adjusted accordingly. The flavor was okay - the corn made a nice crunch. I wouldn't add the beans next time. I found them too squishy and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I added minced garlic to the rice as it boiled, then added an extra teaspoon of lime juice, and a dash of chili powder. Keeper. Nice colorful side dish for Mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe. It allows me to incorporate one of my favorite ingredients, Black Beans, into one of my favorite side dishes...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Fantastic! We altered just the cooking method. When we cook rice, we first boil the water and then add the rice. We also use a 2:1 water to rice ratio, so we used two cups of boiling water, to one cup of seasoned rice. This was fantastic, I loved the added sweetness of the corn. Unfortunately my three-year olds didn't eat it, but they haven't eaten much of anything lately. My husband, who is not a a rice fan- did eat it (woo hoo). My husband ate it as a side dish, and I pushed aside the pork chops to continue eating serving after serving of rice. Thank you for a quick and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Added the cilantro as suggested by someone else and loved it. Put the leftovers in a tortilla with chicken and cheese for lunch the next day, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. v

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great simple dish! I only wish I had some cilantro lying around to throw in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! It's so easy. I made it as a topping for nachos, but will make it again as a side dish. I made it as stated in the recipe, but added some fresh cilantro. Easy to do in electric rice cooker. My whole family loved it, including my somewhat picky three year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States