Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have made this several times to serve with enchilladas, tacos, etc. and everyone always raves about it! Even my husband,who is not a big cumin fan, loves it! I always cook the rice according to the directions on the package, then add the other ingrediants. Delicious, easy & tastes so fresh - what more can you ask for? Making again tonight to serve with crockpot fajitas Thanks tahoegirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Used my own yellow rice recipe, and added pink and pinto beans too. Quadrupled the recipe for a wrestling fundraiser. Went over well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is a good basic recipe. I usually follow the recipe to the letter when I make it for the first time. After reading the reviews, and considering my own instincts, I felt it needed something more. I made the rice according to package directions (I can't imagine anything other than crunchy rice otherwise!), sautéed a stalk of celery (next time will use two), added two sliced green onions (will add two more next time), added two cloves of minced garlic, double the amount of cumin and lime juice. I also added about of half cup of chopped cilantro (next time will add a full cup). The corn I had on hand included diced poblano peppers and red bell pepper. Next time (how many times have I said "next time"? What does that tell you?) I'll add fresh poblano and red bell pepper. I see this as a great side dish with chicken, as a stuffing for peppers or, as my husband recommended, a filling for omelets. The only reason the recipe didn't get five stars is because I had to tinker with it. For me, a five star rating means the dish is perfection as presented. I think the rice would have been a little too bland for me as written...however the possibilities are endless! Habanero pepper? Serrano pepper? thinly sliced pork? Ground beef mixed in? Vegetarian tacos? Next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Sooooo easy and adding the beans and corn improve upon the rice "kit".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I thought this was okay. I was looking for a quick side for a Mexican meal. I used a microwaveable jasmine rice and added about 1/2 tsp or so of chicken broth paste. Didnt have yellow rice and that worked fine and as a very fast sub this evening. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was super yummy, served with Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Pretty good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Valentina1227
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Loved it! Great for summer or a BBQ as a side dish, I used white rice and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Husband loves it!! Made exactly to directions. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Really great, simple recipe! I added garlic powder & Adobo seasoning to the black beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States