Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I cooked this for my family and it was enjoyed by everyone. I did change the recipe a bit though. I doubled the recipe because I have many to feed. I added in sauteed onions and garlic. I also added in an extra 2 teaspoons of lime juice and 1 teaspoon of cumin. I served it on tortilla shells with all the fixings for tacos. Everyone enjoyed it and the kids went back for seconds. It's always good when the kids go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
It was a nice basic recipe, but I found it a little bland. When I made it the second time, I added some red bell peppers, onion, garlic, cilantro, and some taco seasoning, which definitely helped make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I added diced tomatoes and sliced chicken sausage. A great, easy weekday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I added diced Ortega Chilies and it sure does give it alot of flavor. My sister said it tastes like a Side Dish at a Mexican Restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is an OK side dish. I found it to be a little bland in flavor. I think next time I will add some sauteed onions or maybe some fresh cilantro to really bring it to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is great, especially served with tortilla chips or tortilla wraps. Or served over lettuce as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
What a tasty recipe! We are big fans of yellow rice, black beans, and smoked summer sausage and have that as a meal quite often. Tonight, I used your recipe, but tweeked it just a little. Instead of 1 teaspoon of cumin, I used 2 teaspoons of cumin. I also added fried/cut up smoked sausage links (we were out of smoked summer sausage), 1 cup of shredded (block) pepper jack cheese, and one can of diced (drained) tomatoes. It turned out absolutely DELICIOUS! My husband and son also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It is a good basic dish. I used brown rice instead of yellow rice (it's what I had on hand.) I added some stredded pepperjack cheese to the top when I served it. Can't wait to try it the day after in a burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Quick and easy. Added frozen peas green peppers fresh green garlic and curry. Even my 3 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
i found this to be kinda bland, even after adding cilantro, onion powder and a bit of chili pepper. i will more than likely not make this again/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States