Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is great, especially served with tortilla chips or tortilla wraps. Or served over lettuce as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
What a tasty recipe! We are big fans of yellow rice, black beans, and smoked summer sausage and have that as a meal quite often. Tonight, I used your recipe, but tweeked it just a little. Instead of 1 teaspoon of cumin, I used 2 teaspoons of cumin. I also added fried/cut up smoked sausage links (we were out of smoked summer sausage), 1 cup of shredded (block) pepper jack cheese, and one can of diced (drained) tomatoes. It turned out absolutely DELICIOUS! My husband and son also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It is a good basic dish. I used brown rice instead of yellow rice (it's what I had on hand.) I added some stredded pepperjack cheese to the top when I served it. Can't wait to try it the day after in a burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Quick and easy. Added frozen peas green peppers fresh green garlic and curry. Even my 3 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
i found this to be kinda bland, even after adding cilantro, onion powder and a bit of chili pepper. i will more than likely not make this again/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was good. I used brown rice instead of package rice and I added a lot more cumin and added chopped tomato as well. Then to my own bowl I added dried chopped red chili pepper and cilantro and my husband added just the chili pepper. We all (including my children)added shredded mozzarella cheese on top. I am sure it would be just as good the way it was written. Would be good served with tortilla chips or as a side with enchiladas. It would be good with ground beef added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Didn't blow my mind, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redone522

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I was not impressed. This was BLAND. It tasted like the beans, rice and corn mixed together. It needs more spice or something to give it a more exciting flavor. I agree that it would be good for burritos. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I thought this was quite delicious. It is an easy fast meal or side dish that goes well with an array of food. I made it with the black bean cigars from here and they went perferct. I did add some cilatnro as others recommended, but I think it would be just as good without it. I used Zatarain's yellow rice mix and I think that made all the difference. Thanks tahoe girl for a delcious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious!! Used Zatarain's yellow rice and added some garlic powder and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States