Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I've never had nor prepared yellow rice before. The one change I did make was to use fresh corn rather than canned. My family really enjoyed the combination of the rice, corn and black beans. I served this with another AR recipe 'Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas', and we had a delicious meal. Thanks tahoegirl for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I doctored this recipe so I'm only giving it 4 stars. I added some sauteed onion and minced garlic. I omitted the lime juice and cumin and used a packet of Goya sazon with cilantro. Really great side dish or vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very good & quite easy. I added more water - I'm sure it depends on exactly which "mix" you choose - but this went really well with our spicy grilled fish & salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I really didn't know what to expect from this recipe as I've never made one of those yellow rice packages before. But this got such good reviews I thought I'd give it a try and I'm glad I did! I used home frozen corn (fresh off the cob before freezing) and the juice of a whole lime. I also added some fresh cilantro. I ate it plain for lunch but am looking forward to eating it in a tortilla shell tomorrow for lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
My family LOVED this! Will definitely become a staple at our house. Made with frozen corn rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is great!! Made it last night- added 1 small can diced tomatoes with green chiles (drained), chicken, and made burritos! I must admit, I sampled it while the chicken was cooking- couldn't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Simply delicious and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
OUT OF THIS WORLD. Who would of thought this could taste so good. 10 stars from me if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
What a tasty recipe. I also used what I had in my cabinets. Instead of yellow rice I used white Rice, instead of cumin, I used curry! this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is great- super simple and very tasty! I used what I had on hand- we had no lime juice so I substituted lemon. I also did 2 tsp of cumin with 1 tsp of chili powder. It was a big hit- even my 2 year old loved it! We used leftovers as vegetarian taco filling. TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States