Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I added minced garlic to the rice as it boiled, then added an extra teaspoon of lime juice, and a dash of chili powder. Keeper. Nice colorful side dish for Mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe. It allows me to incorporate one of my favorite ingredients, Black Beans, into one of my favorite side dishes...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Fantastic! We altered just the cooking method. When we cook rice, we first boil the water and then add the rice. We also use a 2:1 water to rice ratio, so we used two cups of boiling water, to one cup of seasoned rice. This was fantastic, I loved the added sweetness of the corn. Unfortunately my three-year olds didn't eat it, but they haven't eaten much of anything lately. My husband, who is not a a rice fan- did eat it (woo hoo). My husband ate it as a side dish, and I pushed aside the pork chops to continue eating serving after serving of rice. Thank you for a quick and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Added the cilantro as suggested by someone else and loved it. Put the leftovers in a tortilla with chicken and cheese for lunch the next day, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. v

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great simple dish! I only wish I had some cilantro lying around to throw in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! It's so easy. I made it as a topping for nachos, but will make it again as a side dish. I made it as stated in the recipe, but added some fresh cilantro. Easy to do in electric rice cooker. My whole family loved it, including my somewhat picky three year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
3.5 - This was simple and quick to make. I halved the recipe and it still made a ton! Flavor was mild and felt like it was missing something. Really enjoyed the corn in this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Instead of using water, I substituted homemade turkey broth. I also threw in a healthy amount of fresh cilantro when I folded the rice in to the remaining ingredients. One of the best rice dishes we've had in a long time, even the kids inhaled it. NO LEFTOVERS. I made Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos and served this with it to make filling for warmed tortilla-type dinner.......great pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
its good. just bland. I added some cayenne pepper and garlic powder to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made as is, it's okay but pretty bland. I kept tasting it and tweaking and finally got it to where the family enjoyed it. Lots more lime juice, another tsp. of cumin, some chopped fresh tomato and sliced green onions and chopped cilantro did the trick. It's a good recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States