Black Bean and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Made with the suggested cherries. Fabulous! everyone loved it & asked for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe. It has such a fresh taste, and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
A pound of wild rice is expensive, let alone already cooked! Made this a while back & cooked my own mixture of brown rice with wild rice. Worked just fine, tasted great. And people, stop substituting dried herbs for fresh! So easy to grow a little pot of something fresh indoors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Wonderful alternative for a cold salad. I made adjustments due to what I had on hand. Used bottled OJ with pulp, apple cider vinegar & a tsp of tarragon leaf, 1/2 tsp of cumin because I like it. I had pecans rather than cashews and dried cherries rather than cranberries. All substitutions seemed to work fine, the dish earned good reviews and requests for the recipe. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Something different and vegetarian, perfect for a cookout. I made as directed except: used dried cilantro since it's what I had on hand, my grocery store didn't have just wild rice so I used a blend of wild, red, white and brown rice. The mixture of textures with the chewy cranberries and crunchy cashews is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This got mixed reviews. My husband liked it except for the orange, I wasn't crazy about the beans, and my friend loved everything about it. I love black beans, but I would have liked this better with more rice. Also, with all the interesting ingredients, I expected bold flavor, but it didn't taste as interesting as it sounded. I also thought it could have used more cranberries, because they added a nice burst of flavor. All in all, not bad, but probably not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Awesome! I added an apple, some extra crasins and I used white wine vinegar because it was what I had. Served with pita bread for a fresh summer supper. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Finally!! A healthy and delicious alternative to boring old pasta salad! Loved the freshness and color of this dish. And the flavor is fantastic. In Indiana, it's not always easy to find TRGN vinegar so I had to sub a seasoned vinegar instead. Made for a healthy lunch carry in and even my unhealthy, Mountain Dew drinking co-workers liked it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Most excellent! I buy the bulk wild rice mix and used it instead of the packaged rice. I also used rice vinegar and a pinch of tarragon. This recipe is delicious and gets better on days two and three (if you can keep from eating it all up that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Brinckerhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bungalowgal
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I was looking for a Black Bean and Wild Rice Salad that was different from the usual Mexican style and found this. I made it and took it to a church salad potluck this weekend and got rave reviews. I made the salad the day before and added the dressing the morning of the potluck as I was worried the rice would get mushy if I added it too soon. There are two things I did differently. One was to add a large can of mandarin oranges, which was not a good idea. My husband liked it with, but I think that was the one thing that did make it a little too juicy and I would not add again. Sorry, honey! The second was I did add another half cup of cranberries (I just really like them and it added some extra sweetness) and I added in some extra cashews for more crunchiness. The salad was awesome! I will be making this all summer as a side dish for grilled chicken or pork. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States