Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
As is, the soup is way too watery when blended. I left one can of the beans whole and the other can I pureed. I also did not puree all of the salsa because I like it a bit more chunky. The flavor was just okay. I really wanted to like this recipe as is but it needs so much more for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very easy to make and flavorful. I used medium fresh salsa and that added a nice kick to the soup. I used low sodium broth (150ml) and low sodium beans (250ml)to help to reduce the salt per serving. Also I wanted the soup to be vegan so I omitted the sour cream. This soup would also be good over some rice with a salad for an easy hardy lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was good and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Brooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I used dry beans as that is what I had, so it took a few hours to make. It turned out fantastic. I added some jalepeno pepers and onions to it after blending and after the initial serving, I reduced it down to make a wonderful dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mitchellville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Was expecting this to be a lot better considering it's reviews! The only thing that I really liked about it is how simple and quick it was to prepare. The taste was just ok! Wouldn't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
sauteed garlic and onion to add to blender. reserved 1 cup of beans to add whole. Added a can of corn, drained. Added an extra teaspoon of cumin - maybe do less next time. Added a splash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I followed it as written and it was a little too salty. I drained the beans, too. Next time I will add a 3rd can of beans and maybe cut the broth with some water. The salsa adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made half a recipe, just in case I didn't like it. I used black bean and corn salsa. Next time I will make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Followed suggestions from other reviewers and the result was a hit! Onion, garlic & extra cumin. Excellent way to throw this soup together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My first ever attempt at making a soup that didn't plop out of a can, and it went terrific! Followed some of the advice here- the sherry, etc, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States