Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The quality of the salsa that you use will determine your finished product. Make sure that you like the taste of the salsa that you choose to use. Love this recipe! I have made it several times and it never disappoints. It is excellent for a quick and easy lunch or dinner. It can become a completely plant based meal with the omission of the sour cream. I have added some chunks of avocado to give it some of the same creaminess. Healthy and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
It was so simple and very tasty. I put some onions and green pepper in the food processer and diced them up really small. Then put half in the soup to cook and blended the rest in with the beans and broth before mixing it all together. It would have been fine without the onions and bell pepper but I had them and they were going bad so I just tossed them in. Easy and had some bite with the salsa and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Perfect. Fast. Easy. On our regular weekly schedule for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Very good and super easy and quick to make! My husband, who is a big meat eater, actually really enjoyed this soup, and he was impressed that he liked a recipe that was vegetarian! I served it with some quinoa on the side. Will be worth a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I was surprised at how good this was. Sort of like chili, but not. Great on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This soup is absolutely delicious - I could eat it every week! It is also super easy, inexpensive and quick to make. What could be better? Thanks for posting, Maryanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very easy to make. Would scale back on the salsa a bit. Nice southwest/Mexican flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I enjoyed this soup, but we all thought it needed something else so topped it with a mexican blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great soup and very versatile! My favorite kind of recipe! LOL! I love the fact that it can be vegan for our vegan friends. A great recipe to have in the recipe box! I chose to saute onions and garlic for more flavor; used chicken broth cause that is what I had on hand; used homemade salsa sauce (doubled); also added another can of beans (whole) as DH prefers chunks in his soup; used some homemade taco seasoning and dried chiles to taste. Have used toppings such as sour cream, cilantro, nacho cheese, and tortilla chips! Served with corn bread. Yum! Thanks Maryanne for a an easy, quick, and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States