Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I have just tried this recipe it is soooo delicious I too sauted some onions and red bell pepper & garlic to a pan with a little sofrito added seasonings, and followed the recipe as written this will be one of my go to fast soups for friends and family, I am seriously thinking of making some corn bread now lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ailse
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this soup for my family, but I tweaked the recipe just a bit, I added one Serrano Chili chopped fine, and one Jalapeno Chili chopped fine(if you don't want the heat remove the seeds and white membrane) I also added half a cup of frozen corn, and a splash of lime. I served it with a few crushed corn chips on top and grated sharp cheese, along with a dollop of sour cream. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eatwell
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Left over about cup of beans and added to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I tossed the convenience as I had a half bag of Black Turtle Beans in the cupboard when I saw this recipe yesterday. The beans were far more than planned so the batch got doubled (I actually blended half at a time). I used chili powder instead of cumin and chicken broth vs. vegetable, just finished having the soup for lunch ... YUM!!! Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
What a great basic recipe. I read through a few reviews and tried the cooked shredded chicken with this as I prefer a little more protein. Also used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream and held out a 1/3 c. of the black beans until after blending (used immersion blender) to add some texture. Also added some additional spice - extra cumin (1 tsp ea.), cilantro, chipotle chile powder, smoked paprika and about 1 tsp cocoa powder and a little more unblended salsa. This was so delicious and will now be a "go-to" recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
What an easy weekday dinner!! A real home run!! Absolutely delicious. Don't make it in the food processor, though, because the broth leaked out all over the place!! After reading some of the reviews, I added more cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne and fresh lime juice, and the flavors really popped. Next time I will simply put the ingredients in the pot first and then use my immersion blender. What could be easier?! Definitely a keeper. Thank you AllRecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This soup was amazing! I took the advice of one of the reviews and added fresh lime juice, chopped garlic and fresh chopped cilantro. I added crispy fried polenta rounds to the bowl and scooped the soup over top. We rounded out the meal with sour dough toasted cheese sandwiches. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiesj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
salsa and a can of beans is a soup? very high in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie Woolfolk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
If you have a Vitamix blender you can make this in about 5 min and it will be piping hot from the blender. I like to garnish with jalapeños and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selfmade
Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I first saw this recipe in Lindsey Nixon's "The Happy Herbivore" and have made this hundreds of times! Everytime I bring it to a pot luck or dinner, people want the recipe - it's wonderful. I use more black beans and homemade vegetable broth to salsa ratio than called for and I add chili powder and more cumin. So glad to see this recipe here too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori MacIntosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States