Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I love that it is quick and easy. I made a few additions based on others' comments. For my family of six I doubled the recipe, and left 2 cans of beans whole to add texture. I sauteed 1 1/2 -2 tbsp garlic in a little olive oil, then added the blended and other ingredients to the pot. I used 3 tsp (1 tbsp) of cumin, a generous dash of onion powder, and also added about 1 1/2 c of frozen corn. Just before serving I added 1 1/2 Tbsp of lime juice. I served it with sour cream and quesadillas, and we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Absolutely love this!! tastes like my favorite BB soup in San Antonio. And so fast!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Overall a very tastey recipe. Made it for a large group and it quadrupled nicely. I did half the salsa and added Rotel for the other half. Added salt too. Yum. Thanks for sharing! AND this is the fastest making recipe on the planet! Instant supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appelorchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Easy and usually have everything on hand. Tastes like black bean soup with almost no effort. I also leave about half a can of black beans whole so I can have some in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent as is, tho a little mild in taste (which may be what they were going for). Next time I'll add a can of corn and either more cumin, or some taco seasoning. Overall, a great recipe and open to many tasty variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Loved this recipe. Very good flavor and healthy. No heavy cream! I also added one extra can of whole black beans to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent and very easy! I followed the recipe but added 1/2 cup of corn (not pureed) and a clove of crushed garlic. I did not have veg. broth on hand so I used chicken broth low sodium. I kept a 1/3 of the beans whole as others recommended. Lastly, instead of topping my soup with the green onions, I cooked them into the soup mix. YUMMY!!! I may add a 1/4 cup of rice to this the next time. This is a new keeper and one that will be used often!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Good as written...added hotsauce and sherry and a little cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is delicious! Even my husband, who isn't a big soup guy, loved it. I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I'll try some of the other reviewers' variations. I'll also up the ingredients since this barely fed the three of us. Edited addition - Doubled recipe but held out only 1 can of whole beans - do 2 next time. Used 1 1/2 Tbsp. cumin, garlic & onion powder plus sherry. Wonderful! (See Notes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States