Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Simple, fast, delicious. I like crumbling a corn muffin in it. Chipotle chili pepper is a tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I ate this soup at a friend's house one evening and I just loved it I shamelessly bugged her for the recipe until I got it. I use an immersion blender and I leave about one fourth of the beans whole but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is so quick and easy to make and uses ingredients that I almost always have on hand and I make it often. It's great for unexpected company too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
We enjoyed this soup mixed with quinoa tonight instead of rice like we normally serve it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was SO delicious and easy to make! I did get the same finished product by following some of the reviewers' suggestions. I sauteed the onion in olive oil first, along with some chopped multicolored peppers that needed to be used. I processed only one can of the drained beans in my mini-processor, leaving the other can whole. I also used chicken stock for the liquid and a few good splashes of sherry. I went light with some hot sauce, because I didn't want too spicy. Made it yesterday, and today it was nice and thick. At this point I thought it could use a little more heat so added it then. Thanks Maryanne for the great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I followed the suggestion to sautéed onions and garlic first and then to purée two cans of black beans and add a third can with the whole beans. I also added some franks red hot sauce and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. I used chicken stock in lieu of vegi because it's what I had open. This is delicious and I'm thinking about making more on this snow day! Great flavors! Oh! I almost forgot. The splash of Sherry wine is great! I've never done that before so thank you!! So yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great! Added cooked, shredded chicken and sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I found this to be bland and boring, although certainly easy, especially if you have an immersion blender. It could be my own fault because I hate cumin and I left it out. I considered trying again with sauteed onions and garlic, adding thyme and another can of beans and maybe pouring in some sherry, but decided to find a recipe elsewhere instead of essentially trying to create my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a filling and delicious soup. I used it as a side dish, but it could easily be a main dish in itself. It would also be scrumptious to add some grass fed hamburger meat if you wanted to. I also had to use a can of pinto beans in place of one can of black beans, and it still came out scrumptious. Even our 3 y.o. grandson couldn't get enough of it! That is a true testimonial!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States