Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We have used this as a beginning to a great black bean soup. We also use chicken broth instead of the veg. broth. And we add smoked ham to it, puree it with the beans and broth.Using a mild salsa can reduce the overwhelming flavor of salsa, as well as an extra can of beans. It is great! We top it with a dollop of sour cream and chopped tomatoes, and a bit of shredded cheddar. GREAT REVIEWS from family! Even the little ones will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Brough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
very quick and easy to make, inexpensive as well. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mélanie Lise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Fantastic, and with all of the revisions suggested by others, endlessly varied. With respect to the sodium in canned beans: Can canned beans not be rinsed, thus eliminating the saltiness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
First time I've rated/reviewed! Fastest & yummiest soup you can imagine. I only had refried black beans; guess what--make it even easier--no blender/immersion needed. And to the misanthrope reviewers out there--especially the dummy who blamed the salsa--what made you even THINK the onions could taste cooked?? Then said it tasted good, but rated it one star. I don't get it. Chicken stock, generous w/cumin, onion powder, and garlic pepper. You just won't believe how yummy this is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGHEE
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
It was sooo good! Followed some review tips and substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth. I also did not purée the beans and salsa just a quick tip of the cans and salsa and it was done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Amazingly yummy! I cooked my own dried black beans from the store first. I also used chicken stock because it was what I had in the house. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHeldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was pretty good! I used chicken broth and about a 1/4 cup of sherry as suggested and then I only used 1/2 cup of salsa, added a clove of garlic and a teaspoon of fresh cilantro before putting in the food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
So simple and good. Like other reviewers I sautéed some garlic and onion first, then added the beans and a can of Rotel and the other ingredients. I used my immersion blender to smooth everything out and served with sour cream and cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Fantastic. My changes... I didn't have salsa so I added 2 large/meaty tomatoes, 1 small onion, 1 large green bell pepper to the food processor. As well as 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp cilantro. I also opted to keep 1/4 of the beans whole and add to the soup as well as 1 onion diced and sauteed. I topped with shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Super easy and very tasty. I used low salt/fat chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Otherwise, I made just as recipe stated. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States