Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
We enjoyed this soup mixed with quinoa tonight instead of rice like we normally serve it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was SO delicious and easy to make! I did get the same finished product by following some of the reviewers' suggestions. I sauteed the onion in olive oil first, along with some chopped multicolored peppers that needed to be used. I processed only one can of the drained beans in my mini-processor, leaving the other can whole. I also used chicken stock for the liquid and a few good splashes of sherry. I went light with some hot sauce, because I didn't want too spicy. Made it yesterday, and today it was nice and thick. At this point I thought it could use a little more heat so added it then. Thanks Maryanne for the great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I followed the suggestion to sautéed onions and garlic first and then to purée two cans of black beans and add a third can with the whole beans. I also added some franks red hot sauce and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. I used chicken stock in lieu of vegi because it's what I had open. This is delicious and I'm thinking about making more on this snow day! Great flavors! Oh! I almost forgot. The splash of Sherry wine is great! I've never done that before so thank you!! So yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great! Added cooked, shredded chicken and sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I found this to be bland and boring, although certainly easy, especially if you have an immersion blender. It could be my own fault because I hate cumin and I left it out. I considered trying again with sauteed onions and garlic, adding thyme and another can of beans and maybe pouring in some sherry, but decided to find a recipe elsewhere instead of essentially trying to create my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a filling and delicious soup. I used it as a side dish, but it could easily be a main dish in itself. It would also be scrumptious to add some grass fed hamburger meat if you wanted to. I also had to use a can of pinto beans in place of one can of black beans, and it still came out scrumptious. Even our 3 y.o. grandson couldn't get enough of it! That is a true testimonial!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent as is! If you like more heat use hot picante sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Wow Wow .... amaziing easy and great flavor .... i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Photo by Susan Vitovic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States