Black Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Great salad and easy to make. Very refreshing and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was a pretty good recipe. All the liquid for the rice really wasn't necessary, in fact it made my rice turn out kinda mushy. I served the meal a little different - I heated the entire mixture for a few minutes in a pan until it was warm, then I placed it in whole wheat tortillas with cheese and fresh avocado. It turned out great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I didn't see the point in all that liquid to cook the rice. I think a ratio of 1 part rice 2 part liquid is just fine. I reduced the amount of lemon juice to less than 1/2 cup. Tommorrow, I will add fresh cilantro to it and see how that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Very flavorful. It includes many ingredients that taste great together. We really enjoyed this dish and found that it made enough for 10 people as a side dish. My daughter said that it would be great to take to her school picnic. You could even add cubed, cooked chicken to it to make it an easy, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
While this dish was quick and easy to prepare, I thought the results weren't very tasty. The flavor of the black beans was overpowering, and although I enjoy black beans in chili and other dishes, I did not like them in this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
For me the rice cooked up too wet even though I used less olive oil. I think I would cook the rice with only the corn juice next time, and cut back on the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I love this recipe! It's nutritious and easy! What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I love it.........I am a vegitarian & have had lots of difficulties finding recipes I like....This one is an A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States