Black Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Did not care for this recipe - too much lemon and just really bland. Maybe would be better with a lot more seasoning & less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This just didn't do it at all for me. I was a bit short on the lemon, and yet it was still too strong of lemon. I increased some of the other herbs, which just resulted in it being boring. (That covered up the lemon flavor, and I think just a hint of lemon is probably necessary.) So from there I was simply trying to "fix" it to give it some kind of flavor and that never worked. It was edible and I finished it up, but won't make again. It's not worth messing with to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Really liked it. Just made a few changes. I cut out 1/2 of the lemon juice. I used fresh cilantro and threw in some pineapple tidbids. The whole family ate it, which is rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made a few changes the second time around : used regular rice (but still used the water from the corn to cook it), left out the lemon juice, used raw red onion, didn't reserve the liquid from the beans, and I forgot to add the tomatoes. The salad was pretty good, but I liked it better when I fried up the leftovers in a bit of olive oil and then put into a tortilla with cheese and salsa. Either way, I think it makes for a filling vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Not bad at all! This is a super simple dish to make that's full of flavor and healthy. It's a keepr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bird Simmonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
this was ok, i thought maybe a little dull, maybe I expect too much from a salad, as i wanted it to be a meal in one, but it didnt satisfy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Has potential, way to much lemon juice in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I've tried a similar recipe without the rice, but thought I'd try this one. I didn't use the juice from either the beans or the corn (as I used frozen corn), but just followed the directions for the rice. I also used fresh cilantro. This recipe has an amazing flavor! It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is tasty, nutritious, and filling - the food trifecta in my book. I drained the beans and corn, since I was working with fully-cooked (non-instant) brown rice. I left out the jalapenos since I don't care for that taste and added a couple of stalks of celery to the onion saute. I also found that it didn't need salt. It was delicious as-is, as well as sprinkled with Frank's Red Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
it's VERY healthy and VERY filling for a SMALL amount of calories! however, it just doesn't have much of a strong taste. i think i'd make it again and it could be a four-star recipe if i spiced it significantly more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States