Black Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Eh... It was alright... I don't think I would make it again. It was just a little bland. We used 1/4 cup of lime juice instead of lemon. It definitely needed something else so I added a tomato vinaigrette to liven the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very fresh! I didn't have cilantro so I used fresh flat leaf parsley and fresh basil. I boiled up fresh corn, so i used the corn from the cob. Didn't have fresh jalepenos, so used jarred, still excellent and fresh tasting. I may use a bit of balsamic vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is a very tasty dish. I used fresh corn sliced from the cob, fresh lemon juice and fresh tomatoes and herbs. I did not use the juice from any cans. Just cooked the rice and added it to some sauteed onion and garlic, then added it to the fresh ingredients. Great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is my new favorite recipe! I have revised it a bit, though. I add diced chicken, avacado, and about 2 Tb agave nectar. Also omitted the Basil and use fresh cilantro. I don't cook anything first (except the rice and chicken), and I drain the vegetables. I just add the olive oil to the salad, using a bit more than called for. So good! Its like an explosion of flavors in every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I just made this and really like it! Based on others' reviews, I decreased the lemon juice to just under 1/4 cup, used fresh cilantro, and used boil-in-bag brown rice that I cooked separately and just stirred in at the end. I also added celery and a few squirts of lime juice, and I left out the jalapeno and bell pepper. This batch will take care of several meals throughout the rest of the week, and I'm okay with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I tinkered a little bit with this just to suit the tastes of my various family members (less black beans and red bell pepper for my kids), but I have to say the overall taste was so fresh and delightful! I served this with Ginger Chili Citrus Salmon, and it reminded me of the island food my husband and I have enjoyed in the Caribbean, but even better! It is more an adult taste, but I just saved some plain rice for my younger ones. I used regular brown rice, not instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Too much lemon juice..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very, very tasty recipe. I made a few changes to use ingredients I had on hand...I was out of corn in every form, so I put some green pepper in instead. I think the corn would have been better, but the green pepper added a nice color and flavor. I also changed the prep method a bit, since I had no instant brown rice on hand. Instead, I just cooked regular brown rice, mixed in the vegetables, didn't save the drained juice, and just threw all the raw ingredients together. It's a lot easier to make this way, and it really tastes great. I put the rice in warm, and it worked well this way...I think the warmth brought out the flavors of the vegetables and herbs. I also used fresh herbs. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe!! So refreshing and a great side BBQ dish, actually, it can go with anything. Next time I'll use fresh basil and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. I lessoned the amount of lemon juice, because I am just not a big fan....very good though. I also topped it with cheese....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States