Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Fantastic!! I followed the recipe with only minor modifications: used enchilada sauce in the filling instead of picante, plus spread thinly in the bottom of the pan and poured over the rolled enchiladas before baking; omitted red pepper flakes; used one cup of rice instead of two. I used eight eight-inch multi-grain tortillas and still had a bit of filling left over. I also served the cilantro at the table, just because I didn't read the directions!! These are just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Excellent!! I made this for for my husband, he absolutley loved them. Great recipe thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tilden, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coulterville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
tweeked it a little for personal taste but loved them! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
These are fabulous! One of the best dinners in my rotation. I leave out the picante and crushed peppers, and it's still great. The 2nd time I made it, I didn't have shredded cheese and used con queso instead. I imagine you can improvise all you want and these will still be great! SO easy and a definite favorite with the family! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was a big hit with my family....My husband came running down the stairs when he smelled this one cooking and stated that he could eat it now and I was only in the stage of adding the rice to the rest of the ingredients! My brother had always stated that he didnt think he'd like mexican food because he had never eaten it, however, he loved this recipe. This has definitely been added to our family's vegetarian menu and it was prepared exactly the way you suggested. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algoma, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
What a great veggie dish! Made a few changes - used a can of chopped green chillies and used white rice - everyone at lunch that day loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNSU
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I love the fact the tortilla will turn out a little crispy! I didn't have picante sauce, so made Red Enchilada Sauce (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I love this one. I made six of them and the next day I made a salad with the leftover filling by adding macaroni. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I tried this because I love both the taste and health benefits of black beans. I didn't have picante sauce so I added a little salsa to the bean mixture and it worked great. I needed more tortillas to use the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These enchiladas rock!! They are very flavorful yet also very healthy. I have made the filling up ahead of time and frozen it, which works great!I also have used enchilada sauce over the top instead of the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States