Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I was ok with this recipe before I made it then began to doubt it when I realized how not cheesy it was, I mean come on Enchiladas=Cheese to me!! But lo and behold it turned out really well, forgot all about the lack of cheese. I did sub fresh ingredients for the processed ones..1 1/2 c black beans for the canned...1 1/2 c. of diced fresh tomatoes and green chilies...home made tortillas and 1/4 c of fresh made picante sauce..and the Red Enchilada Sauce from this site for the 1 cup of salsa. I also took the advice of another reviewer and just put the cheese in with the filling instead of on top. Very Good with a big salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Quite tasty and healthy. A bit high on the salt, so next time I think we will dice our own tomatoes and chilies. We used an extremely hot Mexican picante, so reduced the amount to 1 Tbps. I would also recommend putting the cheese inside of the tortilla instead of outside. Otherwise, a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Fantastic!! I followed the recipe with only minor modifications: used enchilada sauce in the filling instead of picante, plus spread thinly in the bottom of the pan and poured over the rolled enchiladas before baking; omitted red pepper flakes; used one cup of rice instead of two. I used eight eight-inch multi-grain tortillas and still had a bit of filling left over. I also served the cilantro at the table, just because I didn't read the directions!! These are just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by ANNSU
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I love the fact the tortilla will turn out a little crispy! I didn't have picante sauce, so made Red Enchilada Sauce (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dani girl
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was a really yummy recipe! I mixed a green tomatillo salsa into the filling instead of picante sauce. I used white rice instead of brown only because that's all I had (wouldn't reccomend that) and used a red bell pepper instead of green (just a personal preference). I reduced the amount of rice to a litte over a cup and it was perfect. I think it made the perfect amount of filling, it made 8 nicely stuffed enchiladas. I poured enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and then topped the enchiladas with more sauce. Served with salsa and guacamole from this site. I think next time I will double the sauce and add zuchinni to the filling. *UPDATE*: I just made these again but added a habanero pepper, carrots, zuchinni, and sweet potato to the filling and it was awesome! I used red salsa in the filling and used more sauce on top. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanalei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was a big hit with my family....My husband came running down the stairs when he smelled this one cooking and stated that he could eat it now and I was only in the stage of adding the rice to the rest of the ingredients! My brother had always stated that he didnt think he'd like mexican food because he had never eaten it, however, he loved this recipe. This has definitely been added to our family's vegetarian menu and it was prepared exactly the way you suggested. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algoma, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made these over the weekend for my Vegetarian daughter and ended up eating them myself! These were AWESOME! It made enough filling for 12 enchiladas, not the 8 that the recipe stated, but amazingly good! I highly recommend this recipe and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These are superb! We like these much better than the usual chicken or beef enchiladas. Instead of buying peppers and onions and all that separately, we substituted a cup of our favorite salsa in place of all of the beggies. It's all in the salsa anyway, already cut up for me, and Im saving a couple of bucks. We will keep this in our dinner rotation. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I made this with kidney beans and white rice, and it still tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
A new vegan delight for us, I used Las Palmas Enchilada sauce (that's the one my mom always used when I was a kid...ahhh tastes like home...), I add some fresh or frozen corn, and for our vegan sensiblities left out the cheese. Used corn tortillas instead of flour. DELICISIOSO!!!! I found these to freeze and reheat well, so make a bunch for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States