Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Quite tasty and healthy. A bit high on the salt, so next time I think we will dice our own tomatoes and chilies. We used an extremely hot Mexican picante, so reduced the amount to 1 Tbps. I would also recommend putting the cheese inside of the tortilla instead of outside. Otherwise, a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Excellent!! I made this for for my husband, he absolutley loved them. Great recipe thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tilden, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coulterville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
tweeked it a little for personal taste but loved them! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
These are fabulous! One of the best dinners in my rotation. I leave out the picante and crushed peppers, and it's still great. The 2nd time I made it, I didn't have shredded cheese and used con queso instead. I imagine you can improvise all you want and these will still be great! SO easy and a definite favorite with the family! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was a big hit with my family....My husband came running down the stairs when he smelled this one cooking and stated that he could eat it now and I was only in the stage of adding the rice to the rest of the ingredients! My brother had always stated that he didnt think he'd like mexican food because he had never eaten it, however, he loved this recipe. This has definitely been added to our family's vegetarian menu and it was prepared exactly the way you suggested. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algoma, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just okay...I've made better without a recipe and I don't think salsa is a good replacement for a homemade enchilada sauce. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Fantastic!! I followed the recipe with only minor modifications: used enchilada sauce in the filling instead of picante, plus spread thinly in the bottom of the pan and poured over the rolled enchiladas before baking; omitted red pepper flakes; used one cup of rice instead of two. I used eight eight-inch multi-grain tortillas and still had a bit of filling left over. I also served the cilantro at the table, just because I didn't read the directions!! These are just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
What a great veggie dish! Made a few changes - used a can of chopped green chillies and used white rice - everyone at lunch that day loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Although I needed to make a few substitutions to suit the ingredients I had on hand, the spirit of the recipe remained intact. This was very good and enjoyed by all. Anyone who likes this should try the Black Bean Cigar recipe on this site. Very similar if rice is used instead of tator tots and maybe even a little yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These are really good enchiladas, but I prefer enchilada sauce over salsa. I used the "Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce" recipe from this site, and I put cheese inside the tortillas as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States