Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was an exceptional dish. I did not have any picante sauce, so I added extra canned tomatoes, as they were spicy red pepper tomatoes. I also cut back on the cheese. Other than those minor changes I made the recipe as written and it was great. There were no leftovers. Thank you posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were SOOO tasty! Followed the recipe exactly and it far exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I changed up the filling amounts slightly to use what I had on hand. I used 1 cup brown rice, 1 cup corn, 3 cups black beans (made at home not canned) 1/2 cup salsa and 2 tbsps homemade salt free taco seasoning, it made 16 enchiladas, I also used whole wheat tortillas, I omitted the cilantro as I don't like it, very good and enjoyed by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I am not a big cook, and I really enjoyed these enchiladas! Without the tortillas, it could be an Indian dish (tasted that way to me!) Im saving this to use again and again. Plus, It seems pretty healthy for enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is really tasty and a healthier spin on Mexican food, but with all the canned foods boy is it salty! I changed things up the second time I made it by dicing fresh tomatoes and chilies as well as cooking my own black beans. I also used a homemade picante and salsa recipe (you can find them online if you don't have one). It was much better and I didn't find myself reaching for the water after every bite. If you have the time I really do suggest the extra effort to limit the sodium. I made extra filling and just stuck it in the fridge to make again for lunch. I used whole wheat tortillas and lowfat cheese, you can even throw in some cottage cheese if it's to your liking. I think next time I'll add some corn to the mix. Tasty and worked out well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
this was really good. I added some ground turkey to mine because my family likes meat. I added cilantro to the beans and rice while it was cooking to give it more flavor. This was a little bit spicy to the kids but they still ate it. Next time I won't add the red pepper flakes. In all it made 18 enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Muy delicioso! :) Made this for our meatless monday and it was a hit! It had just a little kick in it... to the point where even my 10 month old could eat it. :) Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wife and I made this just as written and it was delicious! Next time we may add a bit more cheese as a guilty pleasure but what a great recipe! Thanks, Christie for a reall good one! Nice to see a healthy slant on an old basic favorite. Man, are these tasty! Hope everyone tries these out as the recipe calls for, and then decides to make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokyrakune
Home Town: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was yum and super healthy!!! I used two fresh diced tomatoes instead of canned and used whole wheat tortillas. I mixed the cheese with the filling mixture and it was yummy! I also topped the enchiladas with a homemade red enchilada sauce and baked for an additional 5 minutes. These were FILLING! I could only eat half of one! Definitely tastes more like a wet burrito than an enchilada, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Could easily add corn, chicken, etc. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States