Black Bean and Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Bobikel likes his burritos pretty spicy...but for us I just knew I needed to reduce all the spices by about half. I just did some good shakes of the cloves and nutmeg, which actually to my surprise were a nice addition. I thought the chili powder and cayenne could be reduced even more, but my son loved them as they were, my husband agreed with me. I mixed the rice and beans together at the end to thicken the bean mixture up, which was a bit soupy by itself. We topped with all the taco fixens. Pretty easy meal and we did enjoy the burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I really liked this. I used about a tablespoon of a seasoning packet for white chicken chili because I didn't want to measure out the spices. Used leftover rice from the night before and it took all of about 10 minutes to make. So easy on the budget and really good. Added cheese and tomato to the burrito. Delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Enjoyed the combination of hot with sweet - the nutmeg and cloves. It's quick. I used leftover rice which decreased the prep time to about 20 minutes. My intent was to "use" open containers of black beans, tomato sauce and rice. Certainly can adjust the heat to your liking - would encourage to keep the nutmeg and clove. Definately a make again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Great recipe, followed the spices closely, added some chipotle chili powder, the cloves were nice, had some roasted bell peppers added them to the black beans. The main change was the rice, 1 cup rice 2 cups chicken broth, sautéed a little diced onion, garlic, green onions,celery tops, added the rice, some cumin and chili powder and broth, bring to boil simmer 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I had a hard time deciding what to rate this. I really liked the seasoning blend, but the quantity of seasoning was way too much for my tastebuds, hence the 3 stars. I think halving the seasoning would probably make this recipe a 4 star for me. Someone who likes really strong flavors will probably adore the recipe as written. I mixed the rice and beans because the beans were a little runny and the texture was perfect when mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I really wanted to love this recipe, with its wonderful mix of spices, but I felt like it was missing something....especially salt. I ended up having to doctor it up with salt and jarred salsa at the end. I'm not one of those people who puts a load of salt on everything, and I'm surprised I didn't see this in other's reviews. I actually thought I did something wrong so I kept looking back at the recipe, but the only thing I changed was using chipotle chili powder and brown rice. Even after the doctoring it's still just OK. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Just started Weight watchers and this is perfect for the simply start program and I'll be using it again. I sub'd a small amount of eevo for butter and used a low carb wrap. I omitted the clove and nutmeg and went heavy on the other spices. Also I used a minute rice bowl ( brown rice for microwave) I didn't even need sour cream or cheese! I'm so happy I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe! I did a few things differently though. 1) I only used 1/2 cup of rice because I didn't want to overwhelm the burrito with rice, 2) I used a regular onion because I didn't have a sweet yellow onion 3) I skipped out on the cayenne powder and nutmeg because I didn't have any, 4) I added about 1-2 tsp of taco seasoning and 1-2 of taco sauce just to give it a bit of a Mexican kick, 5) of course added some salt, and 6) I mixed the rice into the bean sauce and then spooned it onto the tortillas. So yummy and so satisfying! I loved it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Well, This was a waste of what could have been a good meal. Have had this recipe for a while and was in the mood for burritos, WAY TO SPICY. Not done yet, will try with half the spice and work from there till I find the right formula. I am sure that it will be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I would consider this a level 3.5 spicy,it was pretty warm. The nutmeg and cloves added some dimension so it wasn't just "hot" it had good flavor. So good with some guac, lettuce, and tomatoes on a tortilla. I really liked it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States