Black Bean and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I was looking for a new use for black beans and this recipe seemed interesting. Its fresh with a hint if sweetness from the honey and jam. I did substitute peach jam instead of marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Light, refreshing and tasty. Didn't have orange marmalade or the peach marmalade as called out by the other reviewer. Used black raspberry jam instead and canned corn. Such a versatile recipe that you can substitute the jam you have on hand as well as other ingredients. Recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
After a while, it seems that all recipes for salads with cucumbers, black beans, corn, and cumin taste alike. This one has differentiated itself by using the honey and orange marmalade in its dressing which gives it just the right amount of sweetness. Will make this one again and most likely cut back the olive oil to 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Way better than you can imagine but be forewarned, this recipe is a lot of dicing and makes a TON! So if you're just making it for you, half the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was a bit hit at a pot luck dinner. I doubled the patch and added a little more marmalade for my taste along with an orange bell pepper for more color. What little was left over did not look so good the next day but tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is soooo good! I needed something to do with the cucumbers mom gave me from her garden and this was perfect! It's easy to prepare & perfect for a potluck or picnic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Arrigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My first comment on the many recipes I found on allrecipes! OMG!!! What a great start to an awesome cuke salad. I added 1/4 chopped sweet red pepper, used a mix of freshly made strawberry & raspberry jam instead of the orange marmalade, added 3 TBS of apple juice, red pepper flakes & increase lemon juice to 2 TBS. Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I accidentally left out the honey. Thought it was delicious!!! Made it a second time with the honey and thought it was too sweet. May recommend omitting honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xfit4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This salad was delicious - a really fresh flavour combo. I didn't have any honey so omitted that and it was perfect, I don't think I'll use honey when I make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a refreshing and delicious black bean salad! Love the cucumbers. The only changes/additions I made were using green onions instead of a red onion and I added some balsamic vinegar to the dressing. Everyone loved it! Also, make sure to use fresh squeezed lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States